previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

To the Getty alone -- 12.21.05
 
(10:50 a.m.) My grades are finally trickling in. I just checked and the first of hopefully four aces came up. Aced poetry class fools. Hell yeah, POETRY! LOL By my count I was pretty sure of two A's, but the other two are up in the air. I was damn close to an A in my literature class, but you never know. I really didn't get any feedback as far as what I was getting towards the end. I did all the work exceptionally well, so that gives me cause to think that I'm close to an A. The one Achilles' heel this semester was my prose class. I messed up on a couple of the assignments, and really there's only like 5 assignments so yeah you do the math. :(

I was talking about perfection yesterday and then I ran into this quote from "Fight Club." "A moment was the most you could ever expect from perfection." So damn true, which means I should just enjoy that moment and when it's gone move on. Yup, good plan of action.

(5:17 p.m.) Back from going to the Getty by myself. No one I know wanted to go, and I've been itching to go since last month. So, I took the bus and checked out three photo exhibits. Actually, stuff like going to a museum I find is better when I do it alone. I don't have to go at someone else's pace, nor do I have to see exhibits that don't interest me. I went, and three hours later I was on my way back home, simple as that.

The first exhibit I saw focused on the work of Julius Shulman. As the pamphlet I got says, "Julius Shulman is renowned for some of the most iconic photographs in architectural history." It's a little known fact that I love architecture. Growing up one of my dreams was to be an architect. I had that dream long before I ever thought of writing. So an exhibition that combines photography and architecture is a DREAM.

Here is one of Mr. Shulman's more famous photographs called "Case Study House #22."

It was a small but extensive exhibit, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The combination of photography and architecture really made this exhibit enjoyable.

I moved to have a look at the other two photo exhibits, "Scene of the Crime," and "Pictures for the press."

The Pictures for the Press exhibit was incredibly moving. I've seen many of the pictures in the exhibit already, like those from the Viet-nam era. There were a few pictures that moved me to near tears. I held them back only because I didn't want make a spectacle of myself there in the exhibit hall. One of the most moving was the picture of Robert Kennedy lying on the floor of the Ambassador Hotel's kitchen shortly after being shot by Sirhan Sirhan (below).


(Time Magazine, June 5: Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles, Robert F. Kennedy is assassinated)

This picture is perhaps the moment this country turned away from fulfilling its potential, and turned towards the dark path we continue on today. I wasn't alive when Robert Kennedy was murdered, but the impact of that day resonates in my life. In my mind the deaths of Dr. King and R.F.K changed this country. If those two men had not died what might have they done to assure not only understanding but a better quality of life? We will never know. The Ambassador Hotel now sits dormant, empty, and a possible victim to the wrecking ball. Buildings come and go, but history remains. It is not always possible to pinpoint not only a time but a place when history changed. The Ambassador Hotel is just such a spot. From the point that Robert Kennedy lay dying on the floor many a dream died as well. I know now why this country is how it is, and why we believe ourselves entitled to invade countries because of false pretense. It's because as the 60's died so did the heroes of that era, and with them their ideals. Perhaps we weren't worthy of such grand ideals, and so we now suffer in a purgatory of mendacity, controlled by charlatans disguised as men of faith and righteousness.

THAT is why I found myself weeping at the sight of that picture.

Before I go I have to post the Picture of the Day, "Mr. Roboto I believe."

Domo arigato.
End communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland