previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

The tale of Eric the hermit -- 01.05.06
 
Man, I've been a total recluse lately. I checked my email this morning and had zero, not one email in my inbox. Not even spam! I don't miss the spam, that's for sure. I only have myself to blame for my lack of emails though, I haven't been emailing or communicating with anyone at all. I don't think I have any specific reason for this reclusively other than not making the time to communicate with everyone. I want to email everyone and just say "hey" or "what's up." Maybe I'll take some time to do that today. I wonder who will be the first person I email. I should email my cousin. I promised myself that I would email her at least once a week, but man I so broke that promise. Right after this entry I'll email her. Oh, and there are a ton of friends I want to email. Again, after this entry.

The whole story of the Sago miners is so completely sad. I was up the other night watching CNN when the bulletin came in saying that twelve of the miners were found alive. Then the story changed to only one of them was found alive. I'm sadden by this but I'm wondering why the families are getting so worked up about it. Someone obviously spoke out of place and somehow there was this understanding that twelve were alive. I had similar disappointment last year when my Grandmother was in the hospital.

My Grandmother, as you may or may not know, was diagnosed with stomach cancer. There was a chance that it could have been operated on, or so we hoped. The doctors said that there was a small chance, but then we weren't told much about the operation option. That's because the cancer had probably spread too far, and the doctors didn't want to give us any false hope. By the time Christmas rolled around we knew that the cancer had spread too far and there was no hope.

So yeah, I feel sorry for the families of the miners that died. However, I can't imagine why they can't understand that someone simply made a mistake. Then again, I know that they must be so completely grief-stricken at this point that they can't think rationally. To go from news that was like a miracle to the absolute opposite must have shocked these people to no end.

Moving on, today's picture of the day is entitled "Walking Quickly."

One of the things I'm going to work on this year is the purging of all wants from my consciousness. This idea of not wanting is paramount to the process of reaching Nirvana. I've certainly done a good job purging a desire for money, though I haven't dealt with the need for money. LOL Those are two different ideas, and I should treat them as such.

This Christmas I didn't give anyone a gift, nor did I get any gifts. You don't know how much of a relief that was. I didn't have to deal with look of rejected gifts, or having to go more into debt, or dealing with the shopping crowds, or any of that stress. I LOVED not celebrating Christmas this year. Ironically enough I feel that the true meaning of Christmas has been usurped by consumerism. Christmas isn't about 50% off sales, or the debate as to what signs in stores should say, "Happy Holidays" or "Merry Christmas." It's certainly not about Xboxes, or stupid shit like that. But I guess now it is about those things, and not about the birth of someone that changed the world. Whether you believe Jesus is the son of God or not, you have to admit that his impact on Earth has been gigantic. Just as the birth of the Prophet Mohammed, Buddha, Moses, et al. But whatever, I'm hungry and I want to get something to eat now.
End communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland