previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

boom, bang, crash -- 08.28.13
 
Today was a CRAZY day, to say the least. First off, I have been "sleeping-in" on Wednesday mornings because I don't have my computer class until Sept 11th (if at all). I've taken to spending some time on the computer and getting some things done before going to work. However, a few weeks ago I noticed that the date of my drivers license expiration was coming up and I hadn't gotten a notice from the DMV to renew it. Like in the past. A couple of weeks ago I figured that I best do something about it, so I made an appointment for today. When I woke up I COMPLETELY forgot that I had an appointment and I wouldn't be able to chill this morning. It wasn't until I woke up after falling back asleep that I jumped out of bed and threw myself into the shower. I didn't even have time to eat breakfast before bolting out the door. A thought came to me as I was driving on the packed freeway. Why hadn't the DMV sent me something? Was it a mistake? Did it have anything to do with that accident I had with the city van? I didn't know. Then I thought, maybe I have the wrong expiration date. I take out my wallet and see that my license doesn't expire until NEXT YEAR! 2014!! I shined on the appointment I made and went on to do my errands. I texted my co-worker Holly to see if she wanted to get something to eat, like last week. But I told her earlier, since we were late last week. Well, can you say famous last words?

I found a place in Old Town Pasadena that supposedly had good breakfast, which is what Holly wanted since she hadn't had anything to eat in the morning. I didn't care, I just wanted good food. I parked my car close to city hall, where there's a small part of the street Holly that has some inexpensive street parking. I was just about to text Holly my location when she called me. Moments later she was screaming, "Some girl just hit my car." I asked Holly where she was and I bolted there since it was only a few blocks from where she was. When I arrived the other car was nowhere to be seen and Holly's car was sitting on the far left side lane. The street she was on is a one way street, so it's possible to be all the way to the left there. She told me that she had exchanged information with the girl and that the other girl left and parked her car. Hmm, I thought, this ain't right. A girl walked by and I asked Holly, "Is that the girl?" Holly said yes. I could tell because the girl walking on the street had a look of contempt as she walked by. Like it was Holly's fault. What happened is that both cars were traveling East on the street. Holly was in the far left lane, and the girl was in the middle lane. The girl in the other car was turning from the MIDDLE lane into the parking garage. But, instead she hit Holly. Holly then told me that this girl said, "I had my blinker on." Like that justifies her terrible driving. I changed Holly's tire, since it was flat from the crash. Mainly because I knew we were going to be late otherwise. Well, we were late anyway since we had to wait for Holly's parents to pick up her car and take it to the tire shop. So much for my idea of not getting to work late.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland