previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

learning from mistakes -- 2001-02-09
 
Well, I did it again... I messed up. About a week ago I was sitting in the drive-thru lane of my local In-and-Out burger joint with my little sis in tow. I had a Sarah Mclachlan CD on when my sis turned to me and asked me if she was a better singer than Sarah. I forgot one of the 'rules' guys learn through the years when possed a question by a woman... lie. Women don't want to know that the dress their wearing doesn't look good, or doesn't fit. They certainly don't want to know if you think another woman is prettier than they are or in this case, more talented. I fucked up because I'm an honest guy and having that question linger would only make her suspect I was making something up. So, what I did was answer her honestly. I told her that I thought Sarah Mclachlan was one the most wonderful singers that I had ever heard, and that she wasn't as good as her... but then I added a 'yet' to the end of my sentence. Yea, like that was going to get me off the hook. So now my sis hates Sarah Mclachlan and thinks that I don't like the way she sings. I do love how she sings, I'm just tough on her because she thinks she's all that and a bag of chips. I always feel that you shouldn't be too proud of yourself because there is always someone who is as good, or better, than you. I also believe in the notion of doing your work as best you can and then letting it go. Once your done it belongs to the world, and isn't yours anymore... on to the next project. Obviously my little sis doesn't share that zen philosophy with me. She's young. What she does have is a competitive nature to her. She always wants to win, and losing frustrates her to no end. I think that she hates losing over just about anything. Believe me, I don't like it either, but I've come to understand that losing happens. And, the grestest lessons are usually learned in a loss, rather than in a win. Actually, my little sis doens't seem to take her singing very seriously now. And why should she, she's young. Then again, she says that she loves it, but I don't see it. I think she likes standing in front of a mirror and singing. She just doesn't like the fact that she has to do it in front of a crowd. I can understand that, big time.

What I thought of doing for sis yesterday was burning a CD with a bunch of different songs, my favorites. I think she needs to listen to something other than Britney Spears and Barbara Streisand. She needs to understand that music is diverse, and that there are greater talents than Britney and Barbara. Also, she needs to learn some soul. Her voice seriously lacks soul and feeling right now. I know she has the talent in her, she just needs to bring it out. New music that she may have never hear any other way will certainly do that.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland