previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Not trying -- 2001-03-01
 
Well, I went over to my little sister's last night to help her with a song she had to learn for an audition today. The song was in Spanish, which is why I was needed. So, I went over there, took off before I even finished all my homework, and tried to help her with the pronunciation of the words. Well, it was a total waste because she didn't take it seriously and didn't learn how to say the words correctly. Of course she went to the audition and wasn't prepared. They were polite and heard her sing the song but then when she was over they just said thank you and let her go home. She just didn't want to play the young Selena in some play that's being produced, but the idea was to get herself known to the people who were putting on the show. They are supposed to be big people and could want her for something else. I've told her mother over and over again that it doesn't seem like she really wants to be a singer. I really want to get my work published, but I also know that I need some more work. I need to have a really great story. My little sis doesn't see her voice as something she has to work on or put any effort into. She isn't a bad singer, but I know that she can be way better than a lot of the singers that are out there now. But, just like I have to work at being a better writer she has to work on her voice. Perhaps she doesn't because she doesn't really want to be a singer. I haven't talked to her mother about this, but I seriously think that it might Anne's wish that her daughter become a singer more than my little sister's. I don't know how to talk to Anne about this because she so thinks that Michelle will be a huge star. However, I think that the lack of effort Michelle puts into her auditions is a passive-aggressive move to sabotage this whole singer thing. She tells me that she doesn't sabotage her chances, and I have to believe her. It could just be that she is like me when I was younger. I liked writing back then, but I never really put too much of an effort into doing anything about it. Now I've come full circle to the point where I want to write some good stories and have people read them. I'm not looking to be rich or famous, I just want to touch people with my words and leave something of myself in this cold and indifferent world. Otherwise, what is there to live for?

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland