previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Truly something -- 2001-03-04
 
I don't know why, but last night, on my way home, I took a detour and drove by MFC's house again. I tend to do that every once in a while. I do it every time I go to school. There are several different ways to get to the freeway entrance... there are even two entrances I can choose from. Nevertheless, I take the one that is slightly farther in order to drive past MFC's house. Now, if I haven't mentioned it before, MFC is the girl that has haunted my life since the day I saw her, some 15 years now. I saw her for the first time on a bus on my way home. She sat about 10 feet away from me, and I've never forgotten that moment. I tried to talk to her that day, but she seemed to not be willing to talk to a total stranger. Then, to my luck, I landed in the same class the next semester. Granted, that was after a whole summer went by, but I still remembered her. I only saw her that one time, but all through the summer I thought of who she might be. I knew that she lived close to me because she got off at my stop that one time. To make a long story short, I asked her out on a date, several times actually, but she said no. The first couple of times she said it was because she had a boyfriend, which was true. I knew that she had a boyfriend, but I didn't care. The last time I asked her she has supposedly broken up with him, so I made my move. She didn't say no exactly, but she also didn't say yes. I let it go, but my feelings for her lingered. So much so that I still find myself driving by her house even today. I haven't seen her in about a year and a half. The last time I saw her was at a hockey game, of all things, some 30 miles from where we both live. Small world indeed. It's strange, because I've gotten away from comparing every girl I meet to her, but I still think of her as the epitome of who I want and need in my life. I really am pretty pathetic at times... I mean, to hold on to an unrequited love for some 15 years now is either truly romantic or truly stupid. I vote for the ladder.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland