previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

The Good, the Bad and the Indifferent -- 2001-07-25
 
Well, I finally got around to making this thing look more to my liking, instead of the prepackaged template it had before. Mind you, I love this site, but I also think that each person has to make it a little more of a reflection of who they are. Hence the name change to "Some Random Thoughts." The things I write here are quite random. Like with all my writing it's simply stream of consciousness... sometimes it makes sense, an other times it doesn't. I like to think that the majority of the time it does make sense.

I'm dead tired today. I shot a little basketball today, trying to get back in game shape. I haven't played that much in the last few years. Which goes to explain my increase in weight. I wouldn't mind trimming a few pounds right about now. Anne is on some Herbalife diet thingie, which actually made her constipated (though she says she's over that now). Still, the only good way to lose weight is to watch what you eat and get regular exercise. I'm more tired from trying to fix my stopped up kitchen sink. I've fixed a few clogs in my day, but this one is too stuborn that I'm going to have to call in a professional tomorrow. A manual snake isn't going to hack it with this thing. This takes serious equipment. But, I gave it the old college try, for the better part of an hour, before I gave up. I still have some of the scent from the mess on my hands... yuck! Damn, I washed them for 15 minutes, what more can I do, I ask you?

I need to get some sleep, but I'm downloading some songs off this new thing I found. It's like Napster, only it's still online. Damn, I hated when Napster went off-line earlier this year. I want to buy CDs, believe me, I do. But, they are so expensive, and often I buy them for one or two good songs. The rest turn out to be duds because the record companies put them in for filler material. They know that people will buy the album if it has one, or max, two good songs on it, so why bother putting a bunch of good songs on it? That's a rhetorical question, of course.

I've been doing a lot of writing, which is good, but I've spread it over a bunch of different projects, so in a sense I'm not getting that much done on my main focus, my book. Gawd, I hope it doesn't suck. I think it's OK, but I know that when I go back to proof it I'm going to hate it. I'm my own worse critic. Still, I can only hope that this isn't a tremendous waste of time. I know a friend of a friend who was writing a book. I don't know how it's going at this point, but I remember my friend asked this person to send them a chapter of the book in order to have a little taste of his writing style. Well, it was horrible. So horrible that I didn't quite understand what was going on. I literally had to read it three times in order to understand what was going on it was so badly written. Then again, you could say that it was a random chapter in a book. Without the background from the previous chapters it wasn't meant to make sense. Still, there are great books that grab you no matter where you pick up the story. That's what makes them great. I think I have that in my project, but I also don't want to dilute myself into believing that it's a great work of fiction just yet. Then again, I hate my stuff so much that when someone says that they like it I tend not to believe it because I think I know how good it could have been. I used to not write because I defeated myself before I even started anything. I used to tell myself that nothing I wrote would ever reach a high standard I set up for myself early on. Recently I told myself that I was going to ignore that impulse to defeat myself before I even started because that was defeatist attitude. No one with that attitude ever did anything worth while because they were too busy seeing the negative aspects of making a move that they never made one. I'm through with that. I need to move forward and good, bad or indifferent, I'll have a book written.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland