previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

I should get away -- 2001-09-03
 
I haven't had much to write about as of late. I haven't even worked on the book for a while, but that's OK, I needed the time away from it. As of late I've noticed that I have stayed with this project, so I'm not too worried about letting a week go by without writing a thing... at least it's always in the back of my mind. I see something, or read something, and it automatically triggers something in my head that says, "Hey, you could use that in the book." Labor day has never been one of my big holidays, that's for sure. This year is no different. I should finally save up a few bucks and get out of town for a couple of days. New York sounds like a good getaway now that this new airline called Jet Blue is out there seeling $129 (one way) tickets to NY. Still, a friend of mine who has been to NY told me that it's best that a first timer like me not go there alone. I don't see why not. I mean, others have gone there and survived, why not me? OK, maybe I would be overwhelmed as soon as I got off the airplane, but that's part of the fun, trying to figure it all out. I've always liked the idea of not having any plans when going on a trip. When we used to travel I remember we went up to San Francisco once without any idea of what we were going to do. It was the most fun I ever had because we just took things as they came. Got hungry? Well, what's around the corner? Why not ask a local where the best hanburger in town is? Those are the things that you don't get in a travel brochure. Like I'm sure that there aren't many travel brochures for LA that point out Randy's Donuts in Inglewood, or the Johnny's in Culver City (home of the best pastrami sandwich in town), or Tommy's on Beverly and Rampart (best chiliburger in town).

We're expecting company today, but they haven't shown up. I already said that they forgot to show up. They've done this to us for the last couple of months now.

I've been adding some of my older pictures to the site, but not all that I wanted to are up yet. Some of them have not made the transition to the computer as well as others. The black and white stuff is not giving me any trouble, but the color is. It's not translating well to the web sometimes. I'll have to work on getting that fixed because I do have some nice pictures that I want to have online so everyone can see.

Well, I'm off to get some work done. Yea, it's a day off but I have a few things that I have to finish up before tomorrow. Then there's this book thing that I want to finish this year. Yea, I hope that happens.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland