previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

The Big "3-Oh!" -- 2001-09-17
 
I turned 30 today. Damn! I jokenly told people the last few days that I honestly never thought I would make it this long. But, here I am... sadly with not much to show for it. Still, I do feel this is a good time in my life because I've finally gotten to the point where I have a focus, my writing. Granted, in the last couple of weeks I haven't been able to write a thing because of my Grandma getting sick and then the terror attacks, which really hit me hard.

First things first, Grandma is feeling well, and seems to have totally recovered from her illness a week and a half ago. I have my eye on a couple of girls right now, though I did tell myself that I wouldn't do so. I can't help it, I'm a guy. And then there's still the unfinished business with HS. I went to find her, but first I went and talked to my former English professor. Neither of us were really in the mood to talk writing, so I'll have to stop by later, like the start of October. The events of the last week have forced me to look at my life and see how fragile the time we have here on earth really is. I've known that for a long time, but there was also an underlying fear that kept me from wanting to get hurt, in any aspect of my life. So, I closed myself off to everything that might cause pain. But you know what? Life is defined by both the highs and the lows in life. Nixon said that you can't appreciate the highest highs unless you've experienced the lowest of lows. After last week I know that to be true. Having my Grandma sick was one of the lowest lows every for me. The attacks only drove me deeper into the lows, and I knew just how low we can really go. But, when I saw everyone waving their flags and my Grandma talking to me I knew the highest of the highs.

Not bad for a 30th birthday, I guess. Here's to many more. After this week I know that I'll appreciate what I have that much more.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland