previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Good and plenty bad -- 2001-12-23
 
The Golden Globes are a total joke. First off they nominate movies that haven't even come out yet. Secondly, the best TV comedy catagory doesn't include The Simpsons. I wonder why that is? Could it be that The Simpsons are not only the funnest show on TV, but also the smartest? Could it be that if it was nominated it would have won every year since 1990? Of course that's the reason. Will and Grace? Friends? Give me a break, I can't watch more than 2 minutes of either show. It's the same thing every week. I've been forced to watch Friends while over at a friend's house (ironic, I know), and I can't stand it. I haven't laughed once at any of the situations because they're tired and over done. The show tries to be cleaver but somehow it always misses the mark. All the jokes only work on one level, misunderstanding. It drives me crazy. Meanwhile, over at The Simpsons you have a show whose jokes work at multipal levels. Any one joke might be slapstick, pop reference and irony all at the same time. How many shows can say that? Fuck man, I know that there are people out there that watch both shows, but they don't always 'get' everything the Simpson are about. That's OK, I get it and in my mind the Simpsons will remain the funnest show I've ever seen. Tied right up there with The Honeymooners, which is also 10 times funner than anything (other than the Simpsons) on TV right now. One last thing, Fuck you Golden Globes!

P.S. Fuck you too Grammys!

Duct tape is so great. There isn't anything I can't repair with it. Last week I had this change tray that I fixed in my car that broke because I mistakenly kicked it in when I was getting out of the car. Today it was an old unbrella that had a loose bottom. There was this commerical a few years ago that boldly stated, "If the Egyptians had duct tape the Sphinx would still have a nose." How true. LOL

I still don't know if I'm going to get a Playstaion 2. I need to get my car fixed first. But at the same time there is this feeling inside me that tells me not to delay satisfaction. I swing from wanting to get it to thinking that it's just a phase, or an itch, that I need to scratch. I get this way sometimes. Then, the other day my stereo was acting funny. It seems to be working now, but I'm thinking that if it goes on the fritz I might just want upgrade to a Dolby digital receiver so I can go from my old Dolby surround sound to the new wave. Hell, there are 7.1 receivers out there already.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland