previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Chicky Baby is Back! -- 2002-04-12
 
Sunday is the worst day for TV, sometimes. Last Sunday I was minutes away from eatting lunch, but before then I thought I'd scan the dial to see what was on. I landed on something on Fox sports called "The Golden Tee Golf Championship. I can't say much except ... wow! This is the funnest thing I've ever seen, a tournament of video golf. Hey, but for a $15,000 first prize maybe I should take up video golf. Then again, I hate golf in any of its forms.

The really messed up thing about sleeping is that I can't be awake to enjoy it. I love sleeping. The other day I was so sleepy and I was lying in bed, savoring those few minutes before I fell asleep. It was so great, but the savoring only lasted a few minutes. :(

Chick Hearn returned to the microphone on Tuesday, and it was super! Chick is the single greatest announcer that has ever been, or will ever be. Here in Los Angeles we are lucky to have the best sports announcers anywhere... and Chick is the best among the best. I missed you Chick, and I'm glad your back. It was like old times. I liked the guy who replaced him for those three months, but he's no Chick Hearn. I know that there are a million other teams, and each one has an announcer. But, unless you heard Chick Hearn do a game, you haven't heard the best. You haven't heard how vivid a game can be over the radio. You haven't really seen a basketball game unless you've heard Chick do the play-by-play. I only wish that he could live for another 90 years. I may just never watch another basketball game if he retires. If I do watch one, I won't be able to listen.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland