previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Don't blame me -- 2004-11-08
 
Last time I wrote something here I said that I had stopped caring anymore, since Bush won the election. I still think that part of this country is thinking with their asses, and not with their minds. But, I can't expect everyone to think. I can't respect this president, but I guess there were those who couldn't respect Clinton. So, now I'm in their boat, and they are sitting pretty. This is to assume that those who like Clinton don't like Bush, and vice versa. I think that's a pretty fair assumption.

Nevertheless, the election has been quite eye-opening. It shows that we are farther apart than we are close. Whatever logical argument I have is countered with an illogical one, and what we have is a stalemate. You can't have an argument with someone who thinks they are right, and refuses to take in any evidence to the contrary. Why would they, it would prove that one, they aren't right, and two, that they don't know what they are talking about. No one, and I mean no one, wants to find out that they are wrong. Including me. However, there are those, and I consider myself one of them, that takes being wrong as a learning experience. I don't go around saying I'm right all the time, I'm certainly not. It's an opinion, my opinion. Everything I said about Bush being a horrible president is opinion, but it is based on facts. Whether you think those facts show he's a jerk, or not, depends on what your values are. I think it's safe to say that a great deal of the majority of the people who voted for Bush are people who think the bible is the word of God. Even though any bible is a translation, of a translation, of a translation, and so on, and so on. A copy of a copy, of a copy, of a copy, is not going to have even a slight resemblance to the original. In spirit, or in text. But, still the Bush backers will have their beliefs, and I have mine. Who is right? Probably neither of us. I'm the only one willing to say that though. The possibility of that is unimaginable to the great majority of Bush supporters. But OK, your guy is in office for another four years. When everything is falling to pieces, don't come crying to me. I didn't vote for him.

In personal news, nothing is going on. Just stupid little things. I'm loving my iPod immensely. Now I just need more songs to pack into it. I love the shuffle feature, because I do get to hear some songs I haven't heard in a long time. I haven't downloaded all my CDs to it, only because there are some songs that I rather not come up when I hit shuffle. I do want to put my Marvin Gaye box set on my iPod, but I keep forgetting to. I'm lazy, ya know. I wrote myself a note, I'll do it tomorrow. Still, I need more songs... about 18 gigs worth of songs. I had the crazy idea to buy some used CDs online, upload them onto my iPod, and then sell them. I'm sure I would lose some money in the deal, but it would be cheaper than buying all new CDs, and then selling them. It's a plan, but I don't know if I'll go through with it.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland