previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Hoping -- 01.02.05
 
My Grandmother has been home a week now. She started her chemo treatments on Wednesday. I can't say that she's feeling any worse, nor is she feeling great. I suppose I can say that she's surviving.

Things here are settling into another routine. For the past three weeks I was settled into a routine of waking up, and going to the hospital. To be with my Grandmother. Now that she's home the routine is different. I check on her all the time, just to make sure that she's doing OK. She pretty much sleeps all day, since the two medications she's taking make her weak, and sleepy. So, with that she has no desire to do much else but sleep all day. I just hope that the chemo is doing its job, and shrinking the cancer.

That's what we're all hoping. See, we're all kinda in this limbo, not knowing if this thing is working. If it does, then we're in good shape. If not, then the prospect looks bad. All we have now is hope.

Hope is a hard thing to cling to sometimes. You can't really fully grasp it, at least I can't. Maybe others can, but I have this hard time grasping on to the concept of hope. I guess I better learn to grasp it firmly. Because that's all we have to hold on to, hope.

It's been raining here all week. I do love the rain though. One reason is that the air is super crystal clear. I took the following picture on New Years Eve, around noon, of my neighborhood.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Not a speck of dirt anywhere. Ahhh, talk about clean. Speaking of my neighborhood, I found this while driving home the other day.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

It's a baby announcement. I've never heard of putting a huge sign outside your house to announce that you have a new baby. Oh well, to each their own.

I forgot to wish everyone that reads this a Happy New Year. Speaking of hope, I hope that 2005 is a good year. 2004 was a crappy year. Not just because Bush won re-election, but because there was this foul stench that just told you everything was going to go wrong. I hate that stink.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland