previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Colorful shirts -- 02.28.05
 
Went to the mall this past Friday, since it was the last weekend my Cousin and Uncle were going to be in town. I found myself in Old Navy looking for a long sleeve shirt. But, while there I found a bunch of great t-shirts (shown below).

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I'm loving the orange one, it's a damn cool color. That green, with yellow collar, is looking like it might become my new favorite shirt. Ah hell, all of them will make it into my normal rotation. It was time to have some colorful shirts.

So today I'm going some things around the house, to get things situated more to my liking. The table I eat all my meals on was simply too cluttered, too messy, and too disorganized. So I went about taking the stupid plastic covering my aunt put on it a couple of weeks ago. My Grandmother always put a tablecloth on the table, but I so didn't like that. First off, the tablecloth that was on it most of the time didn't fit. It was too small for the table, and was even the wrong shape. Then, once on the table the thing would move around. To the point that sometimes half the table cloth would be hanging down over one edge, while covering nothing on the other side. It was just so frustrating to deal with that darn thing.

I'm not one to put a tablecloth on a nice looking table like this one anyway. I like the look, and I don't think it's right to cover it up with some dirty old tablecloth.

This is what the table looks like now, a little less cluttered, and certainly better than with that silly plastic on it. Yet, as you can see, there are still a few things that tick me off about this table set-up.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

As you can see, I need a new set of salt & pepper shakers. I have mismatched ones right now, and it drives me nuts. First off, the pepper shaker looks cool, I like the way it looks. The salt shaker is cool too, but it doesn't work. It's way too moist right now, and the salt clumps up. So when I shake the darn thing, it doesn't dispense any salt. I have to unscrew the top and take salt out with my fingers. So not right.

Second, place mats. We have a few place mats, but again, they're mismatched. There isn't enough of one single color, except the ones that are on the picture. If these get dirty, which they will, then there isn't a single set to replace them. Once these get dirty it's basically one of this one, mismatched with one of that other one. Not acceptable.

Lastly, drinking glasses. Again, the problem is mismatching. If we have more than 3 people that we want to serve some drinks to, then it's mismatching galore. We have a couple of sets of nice glasses, but then again, there are simply not enough of them to go around. I need a nice, plentiful, set of glasses.

The way I'm going to solve these problems is to get my ass to Ikea.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

They have a cool set of glasses (above), 12 glasses for about $8, that I'm thinking fit the bill for this glassware shortage problem. I'm sure they have place mats there, as well as salt & pepper shakers. Don't they have everything at Ikea? Yes they do.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland