previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Silly sentimentality -- 12.01.05
 
The end of the semester is right around the corner, and I'm starting to get that old end of the semester sentimentality. It's that old feeling that I get every time a school semester is about to end. I get too attached to the classes I take, especially if I really like the class. In addition, this semester is really the first time, in a long time, that I've loved every class I'd taken. Perhaps the answer to this end of semester sentimentality is to not get too attached to anyone. Because it's not so much the situation, or the classes, that I'm sentimental about, but rather the people I interact with during the semester.

This is my first semester at CSUN, and I've found it to be an absolute dream. When I was in transferring limbo I wondered if the classes were going to be harder than at my last school, and whether I could be comfortable in a new environment. Since the first day of class I found that I was not only comfortable, but that I felt more comfortable than in my previous school. CSUN has become that other place where I feel perfectly comfortable. The only place in the world that I've wanted to spend any amount of time is my room. But I find that when I'm campus that I don't have this need to sprint off. At SMC I used to go to class and then fly back home as soon as possible. Yet, even still I became sentimental about the classes there. I can't imagine how sad I'm going to feel when this semester is over.

But like I said, perhaps not getting too attached to people is the solution. One of my biggest problems is facing the fact that not everyone cares as much as I do. I want to care, but at the same time I want to have the ability to walk away and not be sad that the time in a certain place has ended. All good things must come to an end, I know that all the more these days after the death of my Mother and Grandmother. I have to just enjoy the time I have, but also not get too attached. Or, if I do get attached I have to have the strength to just turn and walk away guilt free, and without being overly sentimental. This is going to be a big challenge for me, and I will see how well I do when the semester is over, and I'm sitting home wondering what to do with myself. I guess I'll just stay in my batcave, aka room, and write until the nights turn into days.

On an entirely different subject, here are a couple of pictures from my recent trip to the Monterey Bay Aquarium.

How cute are those penguins? I remember that it took me basically muscling through a huge crowd of people in order to get this picture.

And now a random picture I took today.

End communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland