previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Exhausted, but in a good way -- 12.07.05
 
It's Christmas time, right? But I'm not going to put up a Christmas tree this year, perhaps ever. I'm not putting it up anymore because really it's a chore for me. I'm mentally exhausted right now, what with finals coming up and a ton of paperwork to finish yet. I do love the Christmas lights around town, and I plan on going to a few of the local malls to check out the decorations. But, I'm not putting up a tree.

Come March 6th, 2006 I shall be going to the Getty Villa in Malibu. I know this because I signed up for tickets. Hey, if you're here in Los Angeles you best get in line for some tickets because the Getty Villa has been closed for nearly a decade.

(7:30 p.m.) I just woke up in my chair after having a little unscheduled nap. I don't think I've ever been this mentally exhausted in my life. Even last year when I was run down from days at the hospital with my Grandmother I wasn't this exhausted. I went to sleep sometime after the first Simpsons rerun (which airs 6pm to 6:30pm) and now. You might say that I'm burning the candles at both ends, but that would be pretty stupid because I don't have a social life. LOL Let's just say that the academic wick is the side burning hot right now. But in about a week's time it will be over for this semester.

But you know what? This exhaustion feels good because I'm getting something done, and because of the work it represents. In some ways I'm a lazy guy, but not when it comes to my work. Growing up I remember helping my mother work a menial job, and I was happy to do it because I loved helping her out. I've never been rich, and I probably won't be because the pursuit of money is not one of my priorities. But my mother and Grandmother taught me that one must put their efforts into one's job whatever it might be. The work is its own reward.

(10:25 p.m.) I just put the final touches on the parody poem for my English 309 class, and printed 22 copies of it. Whew! My damn leg hurts for some damn stupid reason. It's been hurting since yesterday morning. What the hell, am I starting to fall apart again? Better tighten my joints again.

And so tomorrow is the last full day of class. Next week is finals, and like I keep saying I'm going to miss school until the start of the next semester. But, I have a lot to do over the break. I want to finish writing you know what. Then there's also finding a job. Also, there's getting out of this funk. OH, and lastly there's getting out of this funk. LOL Yeah, I know I repeated myself there. OK, I best get ready for bed now. Silly me is thinking of keeping all the paperwork I amassed this semester. In the past I used to just throw things away at the end of the semester. But this semester feels special in some way, so I think I'll keep them for a little while. Lastly, let us not forgot our history. Wednesday is the 64th anniversary of the attack on Pearl Harbor.

December 7, 1941 - a date which will live in infamy - the United States of America was suddenly and deliberately attacked by naval and air forces of the Empire of Japan.

- Franklin D. Roosevelt

End communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland