previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Twilight -- 12.31.05
 
The Twilight Zone was on all day today on Sci-Fi. Man that takes me back to Summers now gone. Every Summer break during my youth I would spend playing outside, except when noon came around. That's when The Twilight Zone aired on KTLA channel 5. Every day, noon, I would be plastered in front of my TV watching reruns of The Twilight Zone. It's ironic that the episode I just watched was about a man returning to his youth and finding you can't go home again.

Looking back at any year I've tried to take something away from the previous year, a lesson you might say. The main lesson for this year will be that anything is possible, good or bad. I'm looking forward to this new year more than years past. I'm not sure what the difference is, but yeah, I'm looking forward to 2006. I don't mind that it also means that we only have two more years of this Bush idiot, although knowing the republicans something tells me that they'll steal another election and somehow we'll have Bush for another four years. So what if a third term is unconstitutional. That sort of stuff hasn't stopped this president anyway.

You know what this year has always taught me? This year taught me once and for all that there is no absolute morality, except the one we carry within. If we bend to conform to others then even that morality is not absolute. The trick is being true to one's personal morality, because that's really all we have.

OK, time for something light... today's picture of the day is called "Eureka Vacuus."


The North American Vacuum (Eureka Vacuus) in its natural environment.

Anyway, I have to get going and eat some dinner with the family now. I wanted to end the year with a quote from Matthew Arnold's "Dover Beach." I feel that it is appropriate considering the events of this year. Happy New Year everyone!

Ah, love, let us be true
To one another! for the world, which seems
To lie before us like a land of dreams,
So various, so beautiful, so new,
Hath really neither joy, nor love, nor light,

Nor certitude, nor peace, nor help for pain;
And we are here as on a darkling plain
Swept with confused alarms of struggle and flight,
Where ignorant armies clash by night.

End communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland