previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

So it starts once again -- 01.02.06
 
(3:02 a.m.) Happy New Year! (a day late since it's now Jan. 2nd) I supposed the lot of you have made your New Year's resolutions. Sad meaningless New Year's resolutions, promises kept until old habits return to form in a fortnight's time. That's why I don't believe in making New Year's resolutions, because as hard as you try you can't change who you are. I stopped making resolutions a LONG time ago. I think it was shortly after I stopped making wishes when I blew out the candles on my birthday cake. Both endeavors left much to be desired, and so I freed myself from superstitious and fruitless exercises. I have some great quotes about New Year�s resolutions for you to read.

"Never tell your resolution beforehand, or it's twice as onerous a duty." - John Selden

"Many people look forward to the new year for a new start on old habits." - unknown

"New Year's Day: Now is the accepted time to make your regular annual good resolutions. Next week you can begin paving hell with them as usual." - Mark Twain

"Good resolutions are simply checks that men draw on a bank where they have no account." - Oscar Wilde

"Hell is paved with good intentions." - Samuel Johnson

Quite right all of you who first spoke, or perhaps wrote, those words. I suppose that resolutions provide us with some way of feeling better about the things we do but wish to stop doing but ultimately never will.

(11:05 a.m.) Remind me to go to sleep early tonight, will you? I have an appointment tomorrow and it will do me no good to get up at early but stay in bed for two hours after waking up, which is what I did today. I secretly hope that it rains tomorrow so I can be out in the rain tomorrow. If I really want to go out in the rain I should go out today right? Wrong! Today is "get ready for tomorrow" day, OK!

(11:56 a.m.) Nice and clean from my shower now. Ahhh, showers are so great. I had a friend that certainly didn't shower ever morning and it showed (smelled). I tried to ask her one day why she didn't, but for some reason she didn't get it. I basically did everything but say, "Why the fuck don't you take a shower?" I swear to you she told me later on that she took a shower about once a week. ARGH! To illustrate how much she smelled one day I was standing downwind of her and I just couldn't take it. My eyes were nearly watering, so I turned around so that the wind blew her smell away from me. It's funny how you try to breathe through your mouth but some of the smell still makes its way up to the scent receptors in the nose. How the hell did I get on this tangent?

Moving on, today I have two pictures of the day... yesterday's and today's. The first is from yesterday and is called "Gasoline Rainbow." Another version can be found on Vista Drive."

The title partly comes from Robert Pinsky's poem "Impossible to Tell" that I thought of when I took the picture, because everytime I think of the words gasoline rainbow I think of this poem.

In summer, gasoline rainbow in the gutter,
The secret courtesy that courses like ichor
Through the old form of the rude, full-scale joke,
Impossible to tell in writing.

The second photo of the day is today's picture and is entitled "Cyborg."

(3:15 p.m.) I'm getting ready for tomorrow's big interview with immigration. No, I'm not being deported you silly bastards. It's actually my Aunt and Uncle that are looking to become residents of this fine nation.

I think that damn crank caller is back. I say that because the occurrence of calls that either end before I can answer them or hang up just as I pick up the phone has risen. That to me shows either someone playing around or that the phone line is a fucked up again. A couple of years ago we had this thing where the phone would not work when it rained. Turned out the connection that goes from the house to the street was all worn out. The phone guy that showed up said, "Man, I haven't seen cable like this in about 15 years. It's probably original to the house." So yeah, it was out there for some 40 years, exposed to the elements and such. No wonder it sounded like someone was popping popcorn when we were on the phone. The phone guy said that it was the water reacting with the wire that was exposed and unprotected. But wait, I was talking about the crank caller. I wish they would just talk. Hell, I would talk to them if that's what they wanted. I'm a talkative guy, I'll talk their ear off. I remember once someone called the wrong number and we ended up having a nice long conversation. It was strange because we didn't know each other, obviously, but we really connected. Then again it's not an exaggeration to say that I'm an affable guy.

I have a lot more to write about, but I also have a bunch of things to do to get ready for tomorrow. I hope my New Year's resolution talk didn't discourage you all from going on that diet, or quitting some vice. It's admirable that you at least try to change your bad habits. Don't get discouraged when next week you tell yourself, "I'll go to the gym tomorrow, I'm too tired today," or when you have just one little drink for old time's sake. Falling off the wagon, so to speak, is normal. You can't expect to change overnight, nor to change completely. It's like the old saying goes, it's one day at a time.
End communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland