previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

This Eric's way -- 01.26.06
 
(3:22 p.m.) I have no idea why, but I am SUPER sleepy today. It's not like I went to sleep late, or woke up early today, so there really isn't a good reason for this sleepy feeling. I hope I get over this soon because the new semseter starts on Monday. I don't want to be half asleep in class.

I don't know how, and I'm pretty sure it's not going to happen, but I have to get myself to San Francisco before March 19th. Why? The San Francisco public library has an exhibit I want to see, the original manuscript of Jack Kerouac's masterpiece "On the Road." I LOVE that book. It absolutely changed the way I write. I fell in love with the style of the book immediately, and I adopted it as the style I would write my work from now on.

It probably won't be the only chance for me to see the manuscript, but if I don't see it now when WILL I see it? OH well, I guess I'll have to wait to see it some day. Someday my path will cross with that manuscript. Hell, I never in my wildest dreams thought that I would get a chance to see an Ansel Adam's print in person, but I did a few years back... and it was amazing.

(11:12 p.m.) There are three writers that have influenced my work: Jack Kerouac, J.D. Salinger and Chuck Palahniuk. I have tried to bring in a little bit of what I love of each of their work into my work. In Kerouac's work I try to take out that beautiful rhythmic quality that plays like jazz, that beat beat beat drop rhythm that makes his works sing. In Salinger's work I try to take out the deceptively simple nature of his writing. If you've ever read his masterpiece "The Catcher in the Rye" you will feel you�ve read either a very simple story, or a multi-layered work of extreme subtlety. There is so much you get out of that book. In Palahniuk's work I find unflinching truth that you can either take or causes you to look away. Those are the elements that I want in my writing, a masterful use of the language, rhythm, many layers and truth. That shouldn't be TOO hard to accomplish right? LOL

Let us take a break with a little thing I like to call today's picture of the day. Today's picture of the day is entitled "Leaves, droplets and grass."

One of my professors has already sent me an email to give us some reading assignments. This guy obviously wants us to hit the ground running. OH man, and me with this damn stupid sleepy feeling all day long. Speaking of that, what the hell is the deal. I have literally been sleepy all day today. I guess I should go to sleep, but I want to continue this entry.

As silly as it sounds I'm growing a beard. It's not a super full one, since I've never been one to be able to grow a full mountain man beard. It's good enough though for now. It was damn itchy last week, but not this week. What is getting to me is the hair length. I want to trim it up a bit, but not too much. Who knows, maybe I'll trim it all off next week. We'll see how long it lasts on my face.

So Monday is the first day of the Spring semester. I'm taking a late class that day, poetry. I think I mentioned a girl I fucked things up with in my previous poetry class. Well guess what? She's going to be in this semester's poetry class. Now a friend of mine told me that I should be mean to her for taking something I did too strongly. I don't want to start a war or anything like that. It's silly to waste time and energy on wars (hint hint dummy Bush). But then again my friend says that if she starts shit that I should give her shit. Again that's not my way of doing things. I rather just stay on my side of the room and not think of the fact that she hates my guts. Hell, we can't go through life without someone hating us with a passion. Am I right? Into each love must fall a little rain, and as downpours go this little thing with my classmate isn't really THAT bad. If it turns worse I'll just do what Gandhi and Martin Luther Kind did. Who needs the drama of a dirty look fest from her towards me, right? Hate me or love me I'm just there to do my work, that's all.

OK, I think it's best I get some shut-eye now.
End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland