previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Sleepiness and idiocy -- 02.07.06
 
Second week of class and I'm already sleeping in class. How the hell am I going to make it through this semester if I can't make it two weeks without falling asleep in class? ARGH! It was so embarrassing today. I was in my second class of the day when I started to dose off. I'm in the third row so there's little chance I can get away with sleeping while the teacher is only feet away from me. I felt like such a dork when I drifted away and upon opening my eyes I looked and the professor is looking right at me. I tried some of my little tricks to wake up, which helped because right after that I didn't drift away again. Oh, and I nearly hit my face on the desk when my arm slipped while I had my face resting on my hand. Man, I have a ton of reading to do and shit, I just realized I also have something due on Thursday. Wait, two things on Thursday. :( I best hit the ground running tomorrow.

Moving on, the other day I got this "official" looking letter from something called the "Department of Rental Practice." As you can see from the picture below it's made to look like it's coming from an official agency of the State of California.

Notice the "seal" in the left hand corner. The official looking seal has the outline of the state, the name of the "agency" a house and, even though it's hard to see, a bear similar to the one on the state flag. Now what I didn't put on this picture is the rest of the letter, which is basically a nice little con, if you allow me that description. This company will basically send me, if I so choose, five EPA approved pamphlets to distribute to my tenants (shock to me), for the nominal price of $26. Meanwhile I went online and found them for free. It sickens me that these kinds of companies exist, praying upon those who don't know any better, or who aren't cautious.

Another example of idiocy comes from the roads. While driving to my evening class on Monday I spotted the following scene right beside me.

The woman besides me was not only driving a huge SUV, with no one else in the car (how's that for hauling). That's not enough, she then stops about a car and a half length from the crosswalk area. I mean what the hell was this woman thinking? I think her move is definitely better than those idiots that stop right IN the crosswalk, and those who cross the street have to walk around the car, sometimes having to step into the flow of traffic. At least this lady didn't do that. But still, this move she pulled makes me question why the fuck she's driving.

Lastly I saw this sticker on the back of a truck.

I did some editorializing of the picture to illustrate my point of view. As a compound statement I have to support both or neither. But, by me fixing my problem with the statement I can now agree in the affirmative that I do support our troops. Which reminds me, FUCK PRESIDENT BUSH. Ahh, that was nice to get off my chest.

I don't know when I'll have time for this but I've been inspired to write a personal manifesto. I'm going to try to write a fast draft of it on Friday or so, and work on it when I have some time. Why a personal manifesto? Because why not, that's why.

Also, after much soul searching I've come to the conclusion that I need to just say "Fuck it" to a whole lot of things in this world. I'm pretty tired of letting things get worse and worse. Either I shit or get off the pot, as the saying goes. Leading by example is one thing I'm planning on doing. Then again, I don't want everyone to follow my lead. My path is definitely different from everyone else's. I'm tired of people in general, and would much rather spend time by myself these days.

Today I had the enjoyable (sarcastic) experience of being snubbed. I should be used to it by now, but I'm not surprisingly enough. So, instead of the nice me you all see here I'm just going to let out what I'm thinking once in a while and say it like it is.

I have to tell you that the priesthood is looking more like an option these days. I might have to talk to my priest and ask him what I would need to do in order to go down that path. Hell, I'm not even a Catholic anymore but I think that shouldn't keep me from helping other's find a personal path to their God. For some people God is very much a helping hand in their lives. Also, wouldn't you like to hear a priest say to you that there is no absolution? Nah, that wouldn't work, but still the priest idea has been rattling around in my head lately.

Anyway, I have to get some sleep.
End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland