previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

It's... it's... Tuesday -- 02.14.06
 
Yes it's Tuesday again. I wonder why it's SO HARD to wake up early Tuesday and Thursday mornings. There's not much to talk about obviously seeing as I haven't been compelled to update. This might be one of those times when I just say the hell with it and let a couple of more days pass before I update. I haven't been doing much of anything other than going to class and doing homework. I haven't gone out, or hung out with anyone, or anything. It's hard to believe but my life has somehow gotten even more boring.

Speaking of classes, they're going well. I'm nice and settled in and in a nice grove with all but one of my classes. English 369 is going to be my bane this semester. This emphasis on grammar is well intentioned but also a bit of a waste of time. I rather think we could use those precious minutes to deal with our course material rather than remedial review. But I'm not the professor, and I'm also not there to complain. I'm there to muddle through it the best I can. Sucky thing is I was hoping to get a 4.0 GPA this semester. But I think that this one class will not help me achieve that. Rather I think that this class has the potential to poison the rest of my classes. Especially since I feel so out of place there, and that makes me uncomfortable. I was talking to my cousins about this class tonight. They asked me if I was considering dropping the class. I told them that it certainly is a thought in the back of my mind. At the same time it's also not an option I'm willing to consider because I would have to make the class up later and that shit always sucks. I've taken this long to get my degree because of shit like this where I defer classes until I end up forced to take other classes that are much worse. I don't see how this could get any worse, but it's on the third week of the semester. Only 13 more to go.

OK, time for a little break here. Today's picture of the day is entitled "I made pancakes."

Yum right? I thought so at least. I tried to make them silver dollar pancakes, but I poured too much batter on the skillet. It was cool, the flavor what counts. The secret is to add a little bit of vanilla extract to pancake mix. Shit, I just gave out my secret. LOL Oh, like you didn't already know that, it's like so not a secret.

The other day I was writing this paper for one of my classes when I ran spell check. Now mind you I don't trust spell check 100%. Hell, I usually don't trust it as far as I can throw it. I use a lot of words that aren't in spell check. So spell check always thinks that I'm spelling something wrong, even when I'm not because I've already checked it in the dictionary. Anyway, spell check also includes a grammar check thing. The following is a screen capture of a grammar check I ran the other night.

See, this is why I don't trust grammar check. What the hell, "I is?!" I don't think there's ever a time when it's appropriate for the word "is" to follow the word "I." I could be wrong, but I don't think there's ever a time when "I is" is ever appropriate.

Damn man I'm suddenly super hungry. I'd love to have some fries right about now, but it's getting late and I have a full day of homework tomorrow. I have a paper to write, some questions to finish up, and four things to read. I can be done tomorrow, but I'm so hungry right now that I might have to make myself something to eat.

The MOCA exhibit I went to a few weeks ago is about to end. The last day for the exhibit is Monday, which means if I want to see it again I best go this weekend. I was hoping to go to the Ashes and Snow exhibit at the Santa Monica pier, but I think that will have to wait for next week. Anyway, it's late and I want to get some sleep.
End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland