previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Conformity Factory -- 06.11.06
 
Yet another long day in a series of long days, but at least this one was pleasant for the most part. I went to breakfast with Catalina Esperanza and Michelle Cayada because it's been a million years since we just hung out. It was Catalina's idea to go to Jerry's famous deli here in Encino for breakfast. It was a decision that we came to regret because the food was subpar. My eggs were runny, the potatoes were half cooked, and I had to ask for a refill of iced tea. Most places I get a refill even before I know I want one. I guess the high price of iced tea makes restaurants hesitant to refill most people's glasses. It's only if you ask that they give you more. Despite the breakfast being subpar being able to hang out with a couple of friends was GREAT. I knew my day would be good after that, and it was. The only sad thing that happened was that tonight was one of the manager's last day at work. It wasn't his idea to be transferred, so it's kinda a bitter event. This guy was a bit strange, but all in all he was the nicest guys there. The other managers have sticks up their butts. Not this guy though. Yeah, he had to do everything by the book and by the letter, but I don't see that as a bad thing. I guess the other managers did, so they asked someone higher up to move him to another store.

Like I said I happened to like this guy because he was always fair with me. Also, he never raised his voice at anyone, or made them feel small. Some of the other managers tend to have a tone in their voice, at times not always, that makes me feel like I'm being talked down to. Not with this guy. In addition to that he was the only one that complimented me on my work. The other managers either think I'm a total dork, or who knows what because they never tell me "good job," or "hey, nice work." This guy came up to me one day and told me that he thought I was one of the best workers there. And yeah, I bust my hump all day and it's good to hear that someone appreciates that effort. The other managers have never said "good work" once. Rather they accuse me of taking 15 minutes of break time instead of my allotted 10 minutes. I'm a lot of things, but late is not one of them. Even if I think it's unfair that other worker magically disappear when there's work to be done, I don't take that extra five minutes. In short what I'm saying is that I lost my best, and perhaps only, ally today. Just before I left this manager said to me, "I talked to the store manager and I told him what a good worker you are and that he should promote you." Once again I was flattered. I don't like this job one big, but if I could somehow move out of the front of the store I could maybe tolerate it. Being out of the influence of the four managers would be a blessing. Never having to bag another bag would also be a blessing. Course my plan is to find another job sooner than later. Yeah, I bombed that Warner Bros. interview, but there'll be more opportunities to come.

So something surprising happened to me after I shook the manager who is being transfered's hand... I got a little tearyeyed. I liked working with this guy because he always gave me an even shake, and I always knew where I stood with him. That's a very rare thing and something to be admired. Maybe that's it, I admired this guy for being himself in the face of everyone questioning what he did, because everyone did question his actions. He was his own man, and unfortunately in this world that means that the conformists are going to want to either change you to their way of thinking, or failing that, ship you out of their domain. Because if there is one thing that drives conformists crazy is someone that challenges the system, because they are the system. It's ironic that this manager did everything by the book and got transferred because that interfered with the conformity. Oh well, it's just another day in paradise.
End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland