previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Only the Lonely -- 07.04.06
 
I haven't updated in over a week and that sucks. It's not that there's been so much going on, but I need to vent. This is the place I go and vent. Which reminds me about this article in the NY Times this past weekend entitled The Lonely American Just Got a Bit Lonelier about how people are more isolated these days. Basically it tells how people's so-called "inner circle" of friends is smaller these days. To the point that some people don't have any one they can talk to about "The most important subjects in their lives � serious health problems, for example, or issues like who will care for their children should they die. And about one-quarter have no close confidants at all." This is a pretty sad trend, if you ask me. I've noticed it in some of my own friends and even in myself. I think that's why I spill so much of what's going on in my head on these virtual journal pages, because I too don't have that constant confidant.

I do have a couple of friends that I can talk about anything with, but sometimes I find I don't want to bother them with my stupid shit. So yeah, here I am tapping on my keyboard, making a bunch of typos that hopefully you'll never see, thinking that it's good I have at least this as an outlet.

So get this... I didn't tell anyone this before, but I might as well spill the beans here. A few weeks ago I signed up on JDate and paid about $35 in membership fees in order to try and make a connection with someone. I wrote a few of the women on there and only got ONE response. I must suck so much. This past Thursday I cancelled my membership, a day before JDate automatically renewed my membership. There's no way I'm going to sign up for another month after the fiasco the first month turned out to be. To quote a great actor in a great movie, "I coulda been somebody, instead of a bum, which is what I am, let's face it." And so my forced bachelorhood continues.

I went to the Museum of Neon Art last week. I've wanted to go for the longest time, but I had other things to do. I went with my new friend, who I need to come up with a nickname for. Here are a couple of pictures from the museum.

There's something super neat about neon. It photographs so well because the colors just pop in the darkness. For me there is a nostalgia factor that goes along with the love of the bright saturated colors. The only thing I didn't like about the museum is how small it was. It needs to be housed in a huge warehouse, because so many of the neon signs were just sitting on the floor. Then again, I know that there are several neon signs at Universal CityWalk.

Speaking of Universal, I went to see the new Superman movie at the IMAX there. I can't say that I loved the movie, though it was pretty neat. The Spider-man movies of late have set a high bar to reach. There was something lacking in the movie, though I can't quite put my finger on it. I think it's just the same old problem I have with the Superman character, he's too perfect. His one flaw seems to be his inability to do anything wrong. That, for me, makes for a boring character. The character I relate to the most is Batman. As Bruce Wayne he's this good guy billionaire that seems to not care about anything but dating beautiful women. But the reality is he's a person that cares enough about a cause that he's out in the trenches fighting the good fight. Something about the double life he leads that's intriguing to me as well. Anyway, the new Spider-man is only a year away, and the trailer to that looks SO GOOD! The people who are making the new Spider-man movies have gotten it right.

Last week I open one of my credit card bills and there's this ad in it for that horrible Thomas Kinkade.

It would seem that Mr. Kinkade has some horrible repetitive �paintings� of lighthouses that I just have to have in my collection. For the low low price of $9.95 I can own my own Thomas Kinkade lithograph. I'm always amazed at how this hack painter has made it in the world with his kitschy "artwork." But then again, you'll never go broke appealing to the lowest common denominator. Most people couldn't tell you why they like Kinkade's work, but what it comes down to is familiarity. Kinkade's paintings celebrate a time in which things were much "simpler" and the light of the world shone on the white masses. His work is a bear hug embrace of a time in which homogeny was the norm and "ethnic" types had not yet "invaded" WASPy America.

Anyway, that's what I think.
End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland