previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Bottle this day, I want to keep it for later -- 04.19.07
 
Today might have been the best day of the year, so far. It's hard to even put into word why today was so great. Suffice to say every little thing went just right. Every little thing, the things that always seem to want to go badly, just clicked and fell into place and worked out for the positive. Like I said it's hard to explain why today was so great, but the main reason is as follows.

I was on pins and needles worried about my English 436 test from last week, because if I had gotten a horrible grade I was basically guaranteed not graduating. Yes, this one test was THAT important. If don't pass it I have no chance to pass the class, simple as that. Thankfully I'm able to report that I not only passed I got a nice fat "B." Which is WAY better than the "D" I got on the first test. With this grade I now set myself up to pass this class if I do well on the final. Now I just have to have a repeat performance on the final and I'm a graduate. YAY ME! So yeah, after I got the test back I let out a big sigh of relief. It was hard to keep the smile off my face. If I hadn't passed that test I was going to have to take the class again for sure, because there was no way I could pass with two bad grades. Suffice to say I don't have to worry until the final comes up in about four weeks. Until then I have to just keep studying and prepare for the end of school.

I had lunch with a friend of mine, whom I met my first semester at CSUN. It was my first, and her last semester. The meal was really great and it was really great to catch up. It was a nice cap to knowing that I had passed the test, that's for sure. There isn't much to say about the lunch seeing as it was pretty much us chatting about what's been going on in our lives since we last saw each other.

Worst thing is that I went to sleep late last night and I was finding it hard to stay completely focused on anything all day long. I hope I didn't come off like a douche because my eyes went out of focus a couple of times during lunch. It certainly wasn't because of the company, just because of my stupid sleeping habits these days. Even right now as I write this I'm having problems focusing.

After lunch Talia came over and we had a nice time visiting. Again, I couldn't always focus on what was going on because I was in a sleepy haze. :( Damn, I so hate it when I'm in a sleepy haze because I'm too wound up the night before. It was probably because I was worried about the test results. Now that that is behind me I can maybe go to sleep at a reasonable hour. Nah, knowing myself I'll end up being in a sleepy haze until nearly midnight. Which is when I'll suddenly get super sleepy and have to rush to bed.

There's a saying that states one should not count the chickens before they hatch. Well, this is how I'm trying to deal with the prospect of suddenly having the money from the sale of the house in Bakersfield in my bank account. I know what you're thinking, don't I wish I had THAT burden to deal with. But really having money isn't that important to me. Money is only good when you spend it. Hording it doesn't do anyone any good. At the same time I do have a bunch of bills that I could pay off in two seconds with that money, meaning I'm free to tear up my credit cards. Then, I could pay off the mortgage on the house and also not have to worry about that. I could basically work for food and the other little aspects of living, and not worry about rent or any other debts. How amazing is that? Like I mentioned last time though, I want to invest the money for the future as well. I don't want to go on a spending jag and then end up with nothing a few months down the road. I want to keep the majority of the money away somewhere and just continue to live my life the way it's been going. I don't think that money will change me, but I know that I'll have to work at not letting this money change me. Because this kind of money does have the potential to highlight certain personality traits that have been hidden because I'm poor.


I honestly wish I was getting more money so I could help more of the people I know. I know some people that automatically say that they want something trivial, and others that will want something not trivial. I'd like to be able to give both of these people what they want. Alas, this money has the potential to also bring out the negative traits in those I know. I always said that if I won the lotto I would keep it a secret. Well, for the most part this is still secret because not everyone I know knows about this yet. But, seeing as I'm such an open book I might let it out one day that I have a few extra bucks. Then I'll know every one's true intentions and colors. There's a saying attributed to Confucius that states, gold is tested by fire, while man is tested by gold.

Anyway, I'm starting to loose focus again. I think it's time to get some sleep.
End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland