previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

I'm Alive -- 11.26.07
 
My father passed away Thanksgiving day, as if the universe have some mocking intention to remind me that I really do have things to be thankful for. Who knows, I�m just here, alive and well. That�s all I know. As I write this I�m sitting in a hair salon waiting for Veeg de Amor Moreno to get her hair cut. It�s the first normal/nice thing that I�ve done in over a week. I needed this more than anyone will ever know. Watching her expressions while she get her hair cut and styled is just some thing so normal that it�s starting to fill me with thoughts I�m not sure I can describe.

This week has actually been like that, a swirl of emotions and thoughts that I can�t always put a name to. On a side now, my iPod is perfectly sick. It seems to know what I�m going through and plays the songs that are both appropriate and ironic for the situation... but mostly ironic. Right now it�s playing Queen�s �Somebody to love.� SICK!

So I got word today that the funeral might be on Wednesday. This is good for the most part, but also sucky. Good because it is rather soon, and not on Monday, which is the day of my big second interview in San Marino. Wish me luck with that, by the way.

I�m not sure I�m ready to get into the whole story of my Father�s passing right now. I�m still trying to deal with it all. I�ll just say that I�m SO glad to be alive... to have the chance to just live. There is a saying that youth is wasted on the young. I�m here to say that life is wasted on the living. We don�t really live life to its fullest until we realize that we might die some day. My Father had his entire life to as for my forgiveness, but he didn�t ask me for it until he was on his deathbed. That�s telling because he obviously felt that way, but didn�t voice it until he didn�t have any more time left on this Earth. Perhaps that�s the lesson I�m supposed to take from all this death, don�t wait.

I couldn�t stop thinking of a couple of quotes from my English classes while my father was dying. One is the famous �To be, or not to be,� line from Hamlet.

To be, or not to be: that is the question:
Whether 'tis nobler in the mind to suffer
The slings and arrows of outrageous fortune,
Or to take arms against a sea of troubles,
And by opposing end them. To die: to sleep;
No more; and by a sleep to say we end
The heart-ache, and the thousand natural shocks
That flesh is heir to, 'tis a consummation
Devoutly to be wish'd. To die, to sleep;
To sleep: perchance to dream: aye, there's the rub;
For in that sleep of death what dreams may come,
When we have shuffled off this mortal coil,
Must give us pause:

I thought more about not the question, but rather the line of what dreams may come in death.

So anyway, most of the above was written on Saturday, and here it is Sunday night and I�ve yet to finish this entry. It�s been rather hard trying to find the time writing this entry, what with everything that�s been going on.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland