previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Random Things, Fri thru Mon -- 12.17.07
 
(Friday 11:38pm) These are some random things that I�m thinking about at the moment. This entry might not make a lot of sense, but here goes. Thought one, I just got home about 30 minutes ago. I�m trying to write my �artist statement� to go along with the pictures I�m going to submit to the Brand library. I�m looking online for some pointers, but really I�m wasting my time writing this part of this entry. I should be working on the statement.

(Saturday 10:28am) There are a million things to do today. I need to get my last check from crappy Ralph�s, buy a new pair of headphones for my iPhone, finish writing my stuff for my photo submissions, mail said submissions, call my grandmother (the living one); hang out with a friend that I promised I would hang out today, buy a bell for my aunt, and I�m sure there�s something else that I�m thinking about but can�t remember right now. I guess I should get going, huh?

(Sunday 12:41pm) I�m being LAZY today.

(2:51pm) There are so many things I want to catch up on. I have two movies from Netflix that I�ve had since Oct., and I�ve yet to watch them. I should watch them today but then there�s football to watch.

(7:21pm) Watching Sunday Night football after finally watching �Pan�s Labyrinth,� which was pretty cool.

(Monday 11:44am) A start of a new week and nothing to do but go to work and pick up my last (or second to last) check. But first I have to get some food in my belly. There are a bunch of little morsels of leftovers to choose from.

(12:20pm) Still trying to figure out this submission stuff. I have to have a bunch of notes and such that I have to attach to the pictures. It�s so much work getting discovered.

(1:16pm) The packet pictured above contains my hopes and dreams... it really does. I�m sending my work and by association my soul and my wants and desires contained in photographs. In my �artist statement� I wrote the following:

I could sit here and write a lot of flowery explanations about my personal philosophy about photography, but the bottom line is I take pictures because I want to remember. A photograph I take does not contain my soul, but it is certainly a product of the longing inside of me to reach out into the world and find that which is beautiful to me and share it. To me the perfect photograph captures a moment so perfectly that it becomes inseparable from the memory.

That pretty much covers why I take photos. If you�ve hung out with me you know that I�m CONSTANTLY taking pictures. Now you know why. It really has become my way of remembering (the good and the bad).

(7:57pm) Went to work to pick up my second to last check (pictured above).

(11:03pm) Watching the last quarter of tonight�s Monday night game thanks to Tivo, because I forgot that tonight was Monday. Thankfully my Tivo didn�t. I forgot to mention that South Pasadena officially told me that I didn�t get the job with them. That�s OK though, I have two other jobs. :)

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland