previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

�08 is going to be Great -- 01.02.08
 
If the first couple of days of 2008 are any indication I can honestly say that this might be a really great year. OK, not everything in the last couple of days has been peachy, but the good, I can see, is really making an effort to come out in �08. Tuesday I headed out to Staples Center to go see the Kings play. It turned out to be quite fun, and a blow-out of a game, which the Kings won. Woo Hoo! I hadn�t been to a hockey game since before the Kings and Lakers moved to the Staples center. Here are a few pictures from the other night.

Obviously the exterior of Staples Center.

The rink as seem from our seats. I was surprised how �intimate� the stadium was. Despite the fact that it holds something like 17,000 people I really felt like even in the so-called nose bleed seats how close I was to the action. At the old Forum nose bleed meant everyone looked like a flea.

Magic Johnson�s statue out front made me remember the good ol� days when Showtime dominated the NBA. Those teams from the 80�s were insanely great.

The previous picture is of the subway, where an old man with a guitar serenaded us on our trip home. My friend Chris (from crappy Ralph�s), who invited me to the the game, made the point that the night was... dang, I just forget the exact word he used. It might have been unusual, but more likely it was something else along that line. It was quite a fun night. Dinner at the Pantry, a blow-out Kings win, and then a serenade on the subway... what a night.

For the new year I�m trying some new things photographically. They aren�t new ideas, per se, but things I really haven�t tried in the past. I haven�t done very many self-portraits, but this year I�m going to do the 365 thing, where I take a self-portrait every day for a year. Here are the first two, representing January 1st and 2nd respectively.


There�s more to talk about, but for now that�s it.
End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland