previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

The LITTLE things -- 01.19.08
 
Does it still amaze anyone how the LITTLE things are what make the difference? I mean, a tiny change can really pull something one way or another. Take for instance the new year, my new job, the darkness. The new year, I�ve said it before, literally brought changes. Not just figurative changes but real changes. I couldn�t see the forest for the trees, or perhaps the forest had me so trapped that I developed Stockholm syndrome, I don�t know. But one little thing, that I honesty made into a colossal thing, changed and now the forest is a quaint place I visited in the past. One that isn�t as frightening as all that.

My new job at Glendale is not perfect by any means, but it is better than crappy Ralph�s. It�s the little things, like being treated like an adult and not a child (like at Ralph�s). Because it sure did feel like kindergarten having to ask the teacher for permission to take a leak, a break, a moment. It might not be a big thing, but being treated like an adult is akin to being treated like a human. On a side note, I have always hated parents that treat their kids like kids. For once I�d like to go up to a parent who is talking to their child in baby talk when they are clearly no longer a baby. Once they can talk to you they are probably smarter than you. They only listen to what you say because you�re bigger, not because you�re actually smarter. Side note done.

You know, we can wish for things but that doesn�t make them come true. Matter of fact, NOTHING ever makes them come true. Certainly hoping is akin to wishing, and hoping doesn�t make them come true either. Trying to talk yourself into them being different is the same as hoping, and you know how that works. Certainly fooling yourself can�t make them true either, because that would be like talking yourself into them being different... and so on and so on. Accepting is a little thing but it makes ALL the difference. Accepting isn�t giving up or giving in, it�s just accepting that no amount of wishing, hoping, or anything will change things. And with that this happy paragraph covers the darkness.

A couple of my new co-workers were laughing at something I did, or perhaps they were just laughing at me in general. It�s sorta funny, their laughing made me almost laugh with them. I�m sure they don�t know what to make of me. I kinda just landed there out of the blue. I show up and do my work, chit chat a little, but not that much. It�s OK if they laughed at something I did. If I knew what it was I�d probably do it again. I�m literally the last new hire, so I�m the low man on the totem pole. I�m just happy because of the little things.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland