previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

The Exodus -- 02.07.08
 
I quit my job at crappy Ralph�s over a month ago, I think it was about two weeks before Xmas �07. Since then I obviously started the two new jobs at San Marino and Glendale. I really like them, especially the San Marino one. It�s, in a word, chill. Now, in returning for visits to my old store my former co-workers have nearly universally asked me how my new jobs are going. I tell them that they�re great, and that I�m just happy to be free from crappy Ralph�s. Then there seems to be a moment where they think how happy they might be by leaving. I don�t have any evidence of this other than previous conversations I�ve had with them about how they don�t want to be there.

So since I left the place has changed, but not too much. Well, now the place is changing a lot. The store manager for the last two years was reassigned to another store down Ventura blvd., a few miles West. So with his leaving it seems that a lot of others are going to be moving to that store and others. One of the other managers is following Mr. Ross (the store manager) to the other store. Suffice to say, the next time I go to my old store I�ll be seeing a lot of new faces. I already have. Since I quit I noticed about five new people, but there are more to come. I lasted nearly two years there, but for the most part I notice that there�s a high turnover of clerks. It�s a menial job with low wages, what do you expect. Most people today want a million bucks for not doing much of anything. It goes with the whole mentality that the world owes you something.

It�s funny because I didn�t even know how much I�m making at Glendale until I got my first check. I honestly forgot how much they offered me. All I knew is that it was a little more than crappy Ralph�s. But it�s seriously not about the money, it�s about being happy. And right now I�m super happy. It�s almost too much happiness to handle sometimes. I�m like in a constant state of bliss that I have to sorta suppress in order to burst into laughter every minute.

Speaking of work, here are a few funny book titles I found while shelving.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland