previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Deadening Cold -- 10.04.08
 
Ah! Finally cooler weather has arrived to Los Angeles. I can�t wait for it to get colder, that sweet deadening cold where everyone in L.A. freezes... you know, 60 degrees. Yeah, we�re not made for the cold. This year I�m really looking forward to wearing some nice sweater, a coat, a hat. Dang, I haven�t worn a hat in a long time. I wonder where my old Fedora is. Might be time for a new one, I�m pretty sure my old one is crushed.

Driving home from work on Friday I noticed that the sun wasn�t hitting my eyes. I�m happy that the nights are growing longer. Just as I was arriving home I noticed the fog draping itself over the Encino hills and creep into the valley.

I quickly took my camera out and snapped a couple of pictures before the driver behind me slammed into my car.

I just came back from a walk. Actually my walk was twofold, I wanted to run an errand and go for a walk in the cool weather. As I was walking back it started to rain, which brought me great joy. It only lasted about thirty seconds, but it�s been the best moment of my day (so far).

Thursday I picked-up my aunt from Costco and low and behold, they have Christmas stuff for sale... already!

I don�t even celebrate Christmas anymore and I�m offended at how early the holiday comes every year. Pretty soon we�ll have Christmas ornaments sold during 4th of July. I understand that there�s money to be made selling stuff this early. But honestly, all this does is cheapen Christmas. I know nobody actually celebrates Christmas anymore, rather they celebrate an opportunity to buy something shiny they can�t afford. The real meaning, or the supposed real meaning, has been lost. Even if you don�t believe in Jesus, his story is an important one to remember. I�m not fond of the Church, but I am of the man Jesus. He was a populist, concerned so much that he gave his life for everyone. Believe the story or not, that is a great message. No one these days is close to being that selfless. If the story of Jesus is nothing but a story it�s still one that holds many truths. If you don�t believe he�s the son of God, at least believe that he died because he was truly concerned about our souls. Because otherwise your so-called celebrations of Christmas are nothing. They are as empty as you are in your heart. I wear my heart on my sleeve, you know where I stand. I don�t like people very much. I see the worst of them and they surprise me every time with their selfishness and horror. I don�t particularly care what happens to most people. I will burn a bridge in a moment�s notice, without remorse or regret later.

(about half an hour later, as best as I can make it) Well, I think that I didn�t oversleep enough this morning because I just woke up from a little catnap I inadvertently took while writing this entry.

Work has been work. Glendale continues to be the step-child of the two jobs. I show up, I�m no one's darling, and I do my job. I had a bit of a reprieve this week from the Micro Manager who always points out that all of us are doing their job wrong because she wasn�t at work on Thursday, and she was all mellow on Friday. So mellow that I didn�t even know she was at work. Of course I�ll end up paying for that freedom next week, I know it. But that�s next week, no need thinking about that now and ruining what�s left of my weekend.

With that I�m off to get some dinner and then to do something involving sitting around. Though I have some nice material for the book in my head today. Maybe it�s time to write that ONE chapter that has eluded me so far.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland