previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

The Terrible State of Limbo -- 03.07.09
 
Friday I took a few hours off work to go to Pasadena to take a test that if I do well will qualify me for an interview with the Pasadena library.


(Pasadena city hall fountain)

I think I did well on the test, but the competition isn�t letting up. There were about 25 people at the test, and I happen to know that it wasn�t the only test given today. A co-worker from San Marino also had a test time, but it was later in the day. Also, I remember the application saying that they were going to start calling people as soon as they had at least 60 applicants.

Anyway, the point being is that I�m looking for a way out of my Glendale job. I didn�t tell them that I needed the morning off work in order to go for a test for another job. I�m not a total fool, just a partial fool. That Glendale job just drains me too much these days. I went in Friday at 2:30 pm and I worked for only three and a half hours, but by the end of my shift I felt like I had been hit by a ton of bricks. I mean I felt REALLY horrible, to the point that I felt like I would collapse where I stood. Logically I shouldn�t have felt THAT tired since I had only worked a fraction of the hours that I normally work. Also, it wasn�t like I was asked to do much heavy lifting during my shortened shift. I took it easy and I still felt like I was going to drop all the books in my hands. As soon as I left work I felt better. That proves it, my Glendale job is affecting me in actual physical ways. Then again it�s also a mental thing, because as soon as I left nothing really changed except that I wasn�t at work anymore. I�m grateful to have the job in this economy, but I do want to find another job.

Last week I drove up to Bakersfield in order to sign some papers to finalize the sale of the house. Well, as is typical of my life these days, the deal fell through. I made the trip in essence for nothing because the buyer never paid and never answered my agent�s calls. So the agent found me another offer, not the same but similar to the one that fell through. I�m sure that THIS deal will fall through and I�ll have to just rot in debt for the rest of my life.

The drive up there was crazy because right after Gorman I hit a huge bank of fog (pictured below).

I couldn�t see but a few feet in front of me on the highway. I was super scared that I would plow right into a car. When I got to the Grapevine the fog lifted and I drove down to Bakersfield without any other incident, except that the deal didn�t go through a couple of days later. Fucking shit man! I can�t last very much longer with the bills that are coming down the pike.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland