previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Winter of my Discontent -- 04.12.09
 
Maybe I shouldn�t be declaring that this is the Winter of my discontent because a statement like that is liable to jinx the whole thing. But I think that it�s at least a little apropos since I got some really good news this week. On Thursday I received an email stating that my appeal had gone through and I had been accepted into library school.

The excitement didn�t hit me at first. It took a little time, and it was tempered since I was wondering if it was really for real. But, after writing back to see if there had been some sort of mistake, and it was confirmed that I had made it, I was smiling from ear to ear. For the last year and a half I�ve had what seemed like nothing but bad luck.

A few days ago I was drafting this entry and I wrote the following:
The days are melting into one another. Nothing is distinct about them anymore, and that�s horrible. Everyone I know is miserable because their lives become one big work week. And it�s all because we all have to �make a living.� It�s true, we have to eat, make sure we have a roof over our heads and such. But is mind-numbing jobs the one and only way to accomplish that? It would seem that it is. I�ve fallen into this cycle of menial tasks in a menial job and I honestly just want to run. I�m not sure how all of us continue to allow ourselves to be treated like this at our jobs. But, it�s what keeps the ship from totally capsizing.

My jobs are now just that, jobs. The redeeming qualities of both are now gone. Glendale started out as a dream. Today it�s a place I dread going because of the monotony and boredom. Every Thursday and Friday I�m like a zombie. I feel tired, sleepy, irritated, and cranky. I feel completely ill at ease.

With the news that I got into library school also came the good news from El Patron that he�s going to give me my old job back, if I want it. And hell yes I want it. I�ve been away from that job for nearly two years now, and I�ve missed it ever since. That was the BEST job I ever had. And now I�ll have the opportunity to return, and also escape my Glendale job.

Let me boil it down to this phrase... I�m happy. For the first time in over a year I am nothing but happy. The happiness isn�t tempered by something bad, it�s pure right at this moment. Maybe this is the tide turning. Maybe.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland