previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Time to give up -- 10.13.10
 
As I drove home tonight a thought came to me... I should just give up on this photography thing. Not to say that I won�t take another photograph, I�m not saying that. But for the last few years I�ve tried to get my work out into the world, hoping that perhaps someone would recognize my work and I could share my work with the world... not just a small group of friends. Who, by the way, don�t actually appreciate my work either. It sometimes feels like no one does. I said that my ultimate goal was to have my photographs hanging in a museum, for as many people as possible to enjoy. That was the dream. Tonight I came to the conclusion that I should give up that dream. I have worked hard, but I don�t know how to get my work out there. I don�t know how to convince people to open their eyes and view my work. Tonight I came to a breaking point, triggered by what I�m not sure. But, a breaking point it was. I need to stop trying to get people to view my work. I need to stop this endeavor that only brings me frustration.

I�ll continue to share my photographs, but what I have to stop is the attempts to get my work seen. I think that I�m the only one that appreciates my work. Perhaps if more people were able to view my photographs they would like them. Alas, that�s not going to happen. So yeah, time to stop. Time to quit pushing. Time to let that dream die. It�s not going to happen.

Perhaps I just wasn�t good enough. Perhaps I didn�t know the right people. Perhaps in the future my work will be recognized. Most likely not. Like my girlfriend said, �It�s their loss.� Like I said about the job I didn�t get, it might be their loss but it�s also my loss.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland