previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Revisit -- 12.26.10
 
It�s strange to visit a former workplace and find most of the same faces there. Today I went to my old job, a grocery store, and saw at least ten faces from when I worked there. I lasted nearly two years at that job, and quit three years ago, and yet so many things haven�t changed there. The store has been slightly remodeled, but the same people remain. I know I keep saying the same thing, but it�s nuts because I think of the people that work there for years and years and years. I was pretty miserable at times, and I couldn�t wait to leave. I think about that now with the jobs I currently have. I jump around, getting an itch within two years, so it�s amazing that I�ve lasted three years at both of the current jobs. The economy is the main reason I haven�t jumped ship.

* * * * * *

I don�t really �do� Christmas anymore. I thought after last year I would get the Christmas spirit this year and once again decorate the house like I used to. But, I never got that worked up about it. I loved the weather. The chill in the air really made it feel like the Holidays. I do miss this time of year because the sun goes down early, there�s an excuse for staying home, and the light really twinkle in the crisp air. But, it didn�t motivate me to decorate. I guess I�m just too lazy. I did love the Christmas displays. Christmas day I went to Clifton�s to have dinner with my Aunt and my Godmother, and Santa (pictured below) gave me a candy cane. It was sweet.


* * * * * *

The photo above is of a former Burger King up the street from where I live. The significance is that it is a FORMER Burger King. In the last six months two of the closest fast food joints to my house have closed. First was the Carl�s Jr. I practically lived in. Every Friday night after work, it seemed, I would go in there to buy a burger and fries. Probably best that it is gone. Since the next nearest Carl�s is a couple of miles out of my way I have not eaten there that often lately. I switched to the Burger King up the street. It�s not my favorite, but I did find something on their menu I liked eating... two for 99� crispy tacos. They tasted pretty good, and the price made them all the more appealing. But now that Burger King is gone, and the closest fast food joint I have is the McDonald�s up the street. But I�ve pretty much had it with McDonald�s. I still love their fries, but their burgers have gotten super small, but the price has gotten really high. I mean nearly $3 for a Big Mac? That�s nuts! I have tried other things on their menu, like the angus burgers. But those angus burgers were super dry the two times I tried them, and a regular old Quarter pounder with cheese was tastier, and cheaper. So yeah, unless I�m going to have their breakfast I�m pretty much staying away from McDonald�s. I guess I should be happy that the Burger Queen is gone, it eliminates another fast food joint for me to be tempted by. I just wonder what will replace it. Ideally a Tommy�s burger joint would be PERFECT there. But those are too busy for the Encino neighborhood to allow. Also, I would be there nearly daily. Hey, I just had a thought... maybe they will build a Carl�s Jr. there. Now that would be great.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland