previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

A week without a car -- 03.08.11
 
Last week my mechanic told me that it wasn�t worth spending more money on repairs to my car in order to have it pass the state smog test. In short, the cost would be the equivalent of buying a newer used car. So I�ve been riding the bus and the rails to work. Not having a car isn�t so bad until I have to head to my job, which is 25 miles away from where I live. It's not easy to get to that job because it's far and isolated. To my other job it�s easier, but I have to wake up at five in the morning. Which is a total bitch because I�m not a morning person.

I�ve been weighing my transportation options, which means weighing my ability to pay for a newer car. Taking the bus is only realistic for a short time, because of how much of a hassle it is to commute to work. But it's easier said than done to get another car. I don�t have very much saved, but I do have a few bucks from my tax return this year. I planned on using that to pay some bills, but of course that�s never an option because something always pops up when I have a few bucks in my pocket. It�s fucking bullshit.

Mentally this not having a car jazz has made me exhausted. Mainly because of how my schedule has been completely turned around. I was hardly home before, now I�m home even less because I have to leave home three hours before my shift starts. And then instead of relaxing at home within the hour, I have to travel for another three hours to get home. I�m not spending more time commuting than I do working at my San Marino job. My other job has a much better travel to work ratio, but I have to wake up super early. Which is also mentally exhausting.

* * * * * *

This weekend I went downtown to take some pictures for a project. While there I found a booth promising someone a chance to win a new car. I debated entering for a moment, then thought �Why not?� I mean really it�s a duh moment to enter a contest like that. Especially since I am without a car, and winning a car would solve that problem. I have to take some time during this weekend and filter through the photos I took this past weekend and send them in for approval. I hate not having any free time anymore.

* * * * * *

On a totally different subject, data. The above was taken this morning and it shows my data usage on my iPhone. Over 200mb in the first four days of my billing cycle. Those who have AT&T will know that one of the data options is 200mb worth of data for $15 a month. Well, I would clearly exceed that. It super sucks having to pay $30 for unlimited data, but I think with my data usage that it would suck to pay a lot more under the current price structure for data on AT&T.

* * * * * *

Lastly for today, a little something I saw when I went to downtown this weekend. While checking out the mausoleum at the cathedral I found the crypt pictured above. I thought it was funny if the person who passed really said that before she went to the here after. Good times.

Let�s hope I don�t have to continue this commuting to work on the bus for much longer. I�m pretty tired of this bullshit.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland