previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

I�m never home anymore -- 04.20.11
 
Today I got my tooth pulled. It had been hurting since Saturday, but the pain didn�t get to be unbearable until Sunday evening while on my way home. This tooth has been falling apart for a few years now, and it finally got bad enough this week that I had to get it pulled. I suppose I could have tried to save it. But financially I couldn�t afford more debt on top of the debt I have. On top of that, the tooth was in horrible shape. My dentist said that it wasn�t very likely that he could save the tooth. So, I had it pulled.

I�m still without a car. The Girl loans me her car on Wednesdays and Thursdays so I don�t have to take the bus home and arrive home at midnight. It�s a huge help. The sucky thing about this is that the money I had set aside for another car had to go towards my tooth today. The whole thing went down the tubes. My buddy mentioned that he was saving a few bucks, and that all of that went out the window when he had to pay for a smog check and car registration. I know the feeling. I�ve gotten some extra hours at work, so perhaps in the next couple of months I�ll have enough for another car.

I settled into this new car-less schedule, though I can�t say that I�m very happy with the time I spend on the bus. I�m hardly home anymore. Most days I come home simply to sleep. Next morning I get up and head off to work, work my shift, and return home to sleep. I�m happy for the extra hours my Glendale job has given me for the next couple of months. But I know that it�s only temporary. The budget axe is hanging over all of our heads. My San Marino job has already stated that the library is going to close on Fridays. My Glendale job has also stated that there will be cuts. I don�t know how I�ll be able to keep afloat if I lose a lot of hours in July. I�ll have to get a third job, which will only have me out of the house all the more. Though, I don�t see how that�s possible.

And yet through all this I�ve somehow managed to have a personal life. It�s important. This past weekend The Girl and I went to the Huntington. She had never been, and I haven�t been since September. It was warm, and we got a late start, so we didn�t get to see everything. But, that�s OK. It will allow us to check out more things next time.

The picture above was taken by The Girl. I�m encouraging her to take photographs, all the while teaching her what I know. Which isn�t much, but it�s something.

* * * * * *

I have a huge pet peeve... drivers who park their cars in the crosswalk on a red light (as pictured above). This phenomenon seems to stem from people being totally impatient these days. No one can wait but a moment for anything. Since I�m doing a lot more walking these days I�m more keenly aware of these dopes that park their cars in the crosswalk. It�s not like they�re gaining anything. It�s a few feet, insignificant for a car when it�s accelerating from a dead stop. But to a pedestrian it represents safety. Because now I have to either walk around the front of the car, moving closer to traffic coming on the cross street. Or I have to walk around the back of the car (my choice), and hope that another car doesn�t decide to move up into the crosswalk. People need to stop moving so far into the crosswalk already. Some friends suggest I spit on a car that�s sitting in the crosswalk. I�m not sure I can do that, but I�m getting to the point that I�m seriously considering it. Taking pictures and posting them is my way of spitting on them.

* * * * * *

Talk about useless shit... I went into a drug store today to get my prescriptions filled. While waiting for the meds I walked around the store. I came upon a display for what is one of the stupidest things I�ve ever seen. A paper guitar. It supposedly allows one to play as if it was a real guitar. I mean come on. I wouldn�t drop $25 bucks on this shit. I could buy an iPhone app for a couple of bucks and have a much better �guitar� than this stupid cardboard guitar looking thing. And don�t think I missed the wannabe �guitar hero� font that sucks in those who think they can play this on their TVs at home. It�s bullshit. I�ll never not be stunned by the stupid nature of products. This thing is TOTALLY useless.

* * * * * *

I wanted to share a couple of pictures from the last few weeks. The first one is of this guy I saw on the subway.

I�m not sure what this guy�s deal is. He might be a pimp, or a queen, or an alien... I honestly don�t know. All I know is that this guy got onto to the subway wearing a suit, covered with a wrap over a gold and white diamond patterned vest, while wearing a scarf and a hat with a feathered boa. Not shown in the picture was his shoes, which had little American flags on the tip, that lit up. Dumb.

Lastly, a couple of weeks ago my co-worker Holly and I went to Slaw Dogs in Pasadena after work. We were both craving some onion rings, but I got a little creative with my order. I asked the restaurant to make my onion rings, chili-cheese onion rings. They were SO good. And I invented a new culinary creation. And on that note...
End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland