previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Wheelhouse view -- 09.12.11
 
Time to do a LOT of catching up. I spend most weekends with TheGirl now, so I�m rarely home to update this journal. In a sense, you can say that real life has kept me from updating in my cyber life.

On Labor day TheGirl and I went to Disneyland. We gambled that it wouldn�t be too crowded, and we got lucky when it wasn�t. TheGirl and I have been to the park a lot of times together and separately. So it�s amazing how many first we have done in the last few months. This trip we decided we were going to try and ride in the wheelhouse of the Mark Twain riverboat. And after one failed attempt, we got to see the inside of the wheelhouse. Here are a few pictures.

* * * * * *

In this first one you can see the view of New Orleans Square from the top of the Mark Twain. It�s a pretty cool, and one-of-a-kind, view.

This next picture is of course of yours truly, standing in front of the big wheel that �steers� the ship. Do I look like a natural?

TheGirl still needs to learn a little more about how to hold one of these steam ships steady. She�ll learn quick.

* * * * * *

I seem to ALWAYS be hungry. When TheGirl saw the following sign in front of the Hungry Bear restaurant, she couldn�t help but photograph me in front of it.

Why yes, I am hungry... thank you very much. The Hungry Bear has become our go-to spot for eats while at the park. They have this super tasty fried green tomato sandwich there that even I like. And I hate tomatoes. Aside from the yummy friend green tomato sandwich there�s also a super yummy chicken sandwich (which is what I usually get). One of the added benefits of eating at the Hungry Bear is the location. Located along the banks of the �Rivers of America,� the location is usually quiet. And there are ducks! Cute ducks that want to be fed. And of course TheGirl and I are happy to do so. Here�s a video I made. This time TheGirl didn�t kill any of the ducks while feeding them.

* * * * * *

It was TheGirl�s birthday this past weekend. We hung out and had dinner. In our travels I ended up taking a few pictures of some �interesting� things. Here they are, in no particular order.

Halloween is coming up, and the stores already have costumes for sale. This year, why not go as a �Blues Man.� I know what I�m dressing up as.

Next comes the use of the letter �Y� replacing �I� in these two condom boxes. I chuckled when I saw the line �So thyn you�ll forget you�re wearing it.� Why did they have to replace THAT �I� with a �Y?� Makes NO sense to me.

The people who own business in Chinatown should hire a language consultant to help them out, if only to avoid silly mistakes like this sign that clearly makes someone as immature as me laugh.

Also in Chinatown, we found these two strange figures. I�m not exactly sure of their purpose, since I can�t really figure out what these thing do... aside from making the owner of the store a few bucks, that is.

Lastly, this �baby hanging station� I found at Ikea. I have recently noted that every crying baby that comes into the library sounds like it�s being murdered. Maybe the killer parents should employ this method instead. It�s certain to be quieter.

* * * * * *

In other news: I have some of my photographs on display at the Glendale public library where I work. Oh, and that job sucks dick. My supervisor continually reminds me that I was done a �favor� when I was promoted to Thursday/back-up driver. I so need to get out of that job, but fast. Of course the terrible economy prevents me from just leaving. But, I have been putting in applications here and there and finally one of them called me back. And it�s for something I really want. I don�t want to jinx it, so I�ll wait until the next time I post to say what job it is, and if I got it. A week from today is my interview. Wish me luck!

And with that I have caught up with what�s been going on lately. I bought myself an iPad, but I need internet service to help me post more stuff here in a more timely manner. Soon.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland