previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Surviving the weekend illness -- 03.26.12
 
The last few days have been pretty rough. First I get the news that I didn�t get the job last Wednesday. Then I get some sort of stomach illness that wore me down but good. It wasn�t until Saturday night that I finally felt like I was back to normal. Then today my day off from work and my aunt�s day off from work fell on the same day. Not good. Because it means she�s going to bitch to me about stuff I don�t really want to deal with on my ONE day off. But whatever, here�s some things I want to talk about.

So as I said my stomach wasn�t feeling well this weekend. On Saturday I was nearly 100%, but I didn�t want to temp fate and eat a lot of food. Especially since my stomach still felt super bloated. So when TheGirl and I went to the Citadel in Commerce I was sure that I didn�t want to eat a lot. TheGirl�s daughter is on a diet, as well as her daughter�s boyfriend, who also came along with us to the stores. So we all went into Ruby�s dinner and ordered off the �healthy� portion of the menu. I ordered chicken tacos (pictured below). I only finished one of them, and later at the other one.

It was funny because we went into Ruby�s and all ordered off the �healthy� menu. I�m pretty sure that�s NEVER happened at any Ruby�s ever. The taco was passible. But certainly since my poor stomach was still settling it was OK for it to be on the bland side. No hot sauce for me.

After supper we headed to WalMart to look for a TV. I�ve never been to one of these so-called �Super Centers,� but I�ve heard they�re big. Big isn�t the word.

More like ginormous. It felt like I had dropped into a distribution center rather than an actual store. Crazy in size and amount of stuff. Sad thing is in a place that big there never seems to be enough employees. Although, now that I think about it, there were three employees in the same line we were in to pay for the TV TheGirl bought for her daughter. Also, it seemed like every TV we looked at was out of stock. TheGirl openly wondered if they ever had items in stock, since this is the 3rd WalMart where we can�t find what we were there looking for.

* * * * * *

I was thinking about all these movies that are suddenly being reissued in 3D. As if that endows them with some special quality. Like Titanic. Good movie, especially the last hour. But do I really need to see it again just because it�s in 3D? Then I thought... �Kate Winslet�s boobs in 3D!� I might have to go see it with TheGirl.

* * * * * *

So after not getting the job last week I was pretty pissed. But after watching the co-worker that got the job over me mess something up that a �detail oriented� person wouldn�t not have missed I think that I�m a little more secure in the knowledge that she is going to fail. She might have some of the skills necessary to do this job. But she does not have the demeanor. She doesn�t handle pressure very well on the circulation desk. How does she expect to handle the pressure upstairs? She makes a lot of little mistakes that compounded create a lot of problems. She still doesn�t know how to run the Koha program we use to check out books, how is she going to catalog books with that same system? It�s all an utter mess, and I�m looking forward to the moment when they either ask her to step down or she quits that job. I don�t think either are very likely. They will work with her at her pace, so even though she�ll feel the pressure they won�t press too hard.

What really hurts is that she is now going to carry the title of library assistant. She doesn�t have her degree and she�s going to have that title. Meanwhile my skills rot on the vine at these jobs. I wasn�t going to look for another job until I found out the outcome of this job. Now that I know it�s time to get out there and make another push for something else. I�m sure that new job won�t be a good showcase for my skills, but as long as they pay me more I�m good. This week I�m super poor. I had to transfer some money from my savings in order to make ends meet. Fuck, it sucks to be poor.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland