previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Belle, bacon, and Gatsby -- 12.13.12
 
This past Sunday the family and I went to Disneyland. My cousin from Mexico is in town for the holidays. He brought his son and daughter to the states to check out Disneyland and DCA. Sunday we all went to DCA, and this coming Saturday we�re going to Disneyland proper. The day was pretty fun, and was highlighted by the Princess breakfast where the kids got to meet and greet a few of the Disney �princesses.�

Here I am with Belle... awww, Belle.

I also got to meet Cinderella!

But the best part was meeting this plate of bacon.

I don�t know how much bacon I actually ate, but it was over 15 strips. Probably more like twenty. I don�t know, all I know is that I was in bacon heaven. I have a running joke that I tell people. I tell them that the terrorist can have their 72 virgins, I�ll have 72 strips of bacon. So yummy!

* * * * * *

I did a lot of thinking while on my route today. Thoughts of TheGirl, dinner last night, and what it all means. I sent my buddy a text today saying this, "Schultz letter reminds us never 2 fall 4 anyone -certainly not in love." His response, "Dang- darkness." The Schultz letter I mention is from an NPR article that aired today. Apparently the creator of Peanuts had a fleeting relationship with a woman in-between his marriages. The line that got me from the article is the following:

"One book mentioned several times in the letters is The Great Gatsby. Here you had this tremendously successful man who created this cultural phenomenon, Kiffer says, 'and yet like Gatsby, he was searching for something, he didn't feel fulfilled, and he met this young woman, and at least for a brief time, that void was fulfilled and they had a wonderful time together and he left this record of it.'"

The mention of Gatsby hits home. My moment with TheGirl was much like Gatsby's with Daisy... fleeting, and the culmination of wants and desires. She was the first woman that was in love with me at the same time I was in love with her. She was the first that sexually fulfilled me. The first that emotionally felt like she fit. TheGirl and I definitely clicked. I think that's why it's so hard to let go of that, even though like the last few lines of Gatsby remind me:

"His dream must have seemed so close he could hardly fail to grasp it. But what he did not know was that it was already behind him, somewhere in the vast obscurity beyond the city, where the dark fields of the republic rolled on under the night."

That pretty much covers it.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland