previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Action, adventure and life -- 06.16.13
 
It would appear that any week these days is going to be filled with drama, good times, and mini-adventures. Course, this isn�t a bad thing, because who wants to live a life that�s boring? Snot me! OK, this is what�s been going on, in reverse order.

Today is super lazy. I planned on going to the grocery store, and taking a drive up Topanga, but that didn�t happen. Instead I brewed my tea for the week and took a nap in the middle of the day. Ahh, sweet nap. I�m a sleepy bastard, I must say. It�s because I don�t allow myself enough time during the night to sleep. There�s just so many things to do, like photo editing, this journaling thing, and trying to catch up on some other little things that I don�t have time during the week to do.

Today is also Father�s day, which to me is just another day. I was never really close to my father, but of course there�s even less significance now that he�s dead. I guess if I was close to him the significance would actually be more now that he�s dead. Not to wallow in this, but I don�t miss him and I don�t think about things like Father�s day or his birthday or stuff like that. Instead I spent time today with Chandaka. He is the pseudo son of TheGirl and me. Here�s a photo I took of our monkey, Chandaka.

* * * * * *

I took Chan to my exam yesterday at Santa Monica college as a sorta good luck charm. I�m gonna need it. I went early yesterday, arriving nearly half an hour before the exam. I walked around my old campus and saw how much has changed, and how much as remained the same. Here are a few photos.

This is one of the makeshift memorials to the shooting last week. Some poor devil snapped and he went on a rampage, killing his father and brother, then burning his house down. Then he carjacked some people on his way to SMC. It finally ended with him being shot in the school�s library. Insane.

This is a feature in the new quad, an area that was pretty dull when I went to school there. Now this area is green and pleasant. If I do get the job on campus I know I will definitely eat my lunch on this lawn.

This is a good example of a space that is the same and yet not the same. The garden in front of the art building wasn�t there when I went to school, but it�s a nice addition.

* * * * * *

Now we come to Friday. My homeless friend started the day off by getting all huffy. He wants to hang out, and wanted to hang out today Sunday. But my buddy from San Diego was coming up. When I told my homeless buddy he acted like a scorned lover, saying that he didn�t need my friendship, and that he knew that I had better friends than him, and that it was time for him to move on. It all came out of left field to me. I know he doesn�t have many friends, and I�m like his closest friend. I�ve known the guy for nearly four years. The high point was a few years back when I shelved more books than I do now. I would talk to him while I shelved, hung out with him after work talking in front of the library. Then came TheGirl and she took most of my time. Then came the break-up with TheGirl and he was in my life more often. Today I see him twice a week, on Tuesdays after work we talk and I drop him off close to where he camps. Thursdays I leave work early, so I just talk to him after work. Fridays are up in the air since I�ve been trying to have a life since TheGirl broke up with me. Thankfully I do have a life nowadays outside of TheGirl. It wasn�t easy creating that life out of the ashes, but here I am. Oh, so I went to talk to him and told him I was sorry that I made him feel like I was avoiding him or something. He�s not been well since his foot became swollen a couple of weeks ago. I have him some meds, but the swelling has only gone down a little. Anyway, we talked and I told him we would hang out next Sunday. He wants to go to Santa Monica. I think me talking about the possibility of a new job scares him because he thinks I�ll forget him and that will be that for his one connection to humanity. Which is a burden for any person to carry. I digress. Friday night I had plans with LM. I�ve been trying to get into her pants for a few weeks. I figured I would cultivate her into something for the meantime. You know, a girl that�s a friend, but not a girlfriend. She�s still getting over her last relationship with some fella from England that visited her a few weeks back, only to break up with her via text as soon as he arrived back in England. She told me that he has issues, takes meds, and by that has more issues in the bedroom. So I come along in her mind only trying to get laid and she balks. However, this night she didn�t balk completely. We had pizza for dinner, went back and parked in front of her place. She stays with a woman that rents her a room. LM says that her landlady pries into her business, hence her not wanting to take me inside her room. So we sat in my car, and we eventually made out and I eventually fingered her. I honestly didn�t expect anything in return. For my part I simply needed to feel sexual again after having to jerk off for my pleasure since October of last year when TheGirl decided she wasn�t going to sleep with me any more. So yeah, that happened.

* * * * * *

The rest of the balance of the week was uneventful. Thursday I worked hard. Wednesday my class, which was being threatened with being cancelled, went off without a hitch. Well, maybe not without a hitch. There was a huge table in the middle of my class (shown below).

Still, the new format afforded me more time to devote to the students. I liked that.

* * * * * *

Tuesday I had to suffer through some new training session at Glendale. They want us to be more holistic in our approach to the library patrons. Eventually they want everyone to be all things to all people. I think they want us to be more like this idea I saw in Chase banks a few years ago. We wouldn�t be behind a counter, literally encountering patrons behind a shield of a desk. That dynamic sets up a certain thought inside not only the patrons but with us. There is a line drawn that I think libraries want to erase. I think it�s a good idea, since we all have to adapt to changes. The older workers didn�t all seem to keen on this idea, but I�m a creature of change. I used to REALLY hate change. I did everything in my life not to change things. Now I embrace chance. It�s completely inevitable so you best go with it or suffer.

* * * * * *

The following isn�t set for any particular day, but in general. I like this girl that I guess if I�m going to write about more often should get a nickname. I�ve been calling her AE here on this and my chronicle on my website, American Ecstasy. The time has come for a proper nickname for her since I intend to focus my energies on her. This endeavor might prove to be a dead-end, a wasteful use of my energies, but I mean to still do this. AE... hmmm. I could call her TheYan, since that�s what a co-worker once called her. That isn�t descriptive enough. I�ll think of something. As I said, I want to pursue her. I�ve been chipping away at her since I first met her. I think we�re both in close alignment for something to happen. I mean, who knows really. I find myself thinking of her more often. I also find I want a connection with her. I text her and she texts me back. But then I�ll text and silence for hours or days. When I look at her I get a feeling, certainly of attraction. But I also love talking to her. I pretty much think I could talk to her forever. Whether I�ll get that chance remains to be seen. I don�t want someone else to sneak in and take her before I have a chance. I look at her and I get signals that mean good things. I want to act on those signals, but I�m also afraid. If I do and she doesn�t respond the way I want her to it will certainly drive a wedge into our friendship. And that is something I don�t want to lose.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland