previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

52 Project 2015: 14/52 -- 04.04.15
 

Location: Bob’s Broiler, Downey

Story: When I was a kid one of the places I ate regularly was Bob’s Big Boy on Ventura blvd, nearly Reseda blvd., in Tarzana. I LOVED that place. Bob’s holds a special place in my memories. There is still a Bob’s in Toluca Lake that I feature a lot in my photos. So it shouldn’t be a surprise when I now feature a picture of a relatively new Bob’s, Bob’s Broiler in Downey. Like a phoenix the Bob’s in Downey has risen from the ashes of another googie style restaurant, Johnny’s Broiler. The story too long to say here, but suffice to say that now Bob’s stands where Johnny’s once stood. I went down a couple of weeks ago to photograph it and wound up with some good shots, including the one above. I shall return for more photos, at night when the signs are all lit up. In the meantime, enjoy and check out this bonus photo of my stuffed monkey, Chan, posing in front of the old Johnny’s Broiler, which used to top the restaurant’s sign.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland