previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Flashback Friday 18 -- 05.06.16
 

Location: Bakersfield

Taken on May 3, 2008, during my first and last visit to my Father's grave in Bakersfield. My father and I didn't have the best of relationships. During the funeral I didn't cry until I thought about my Grandmother. While her death represented one of the biggest hurts in my life, and also the biggest change. My father's death was anticlimactic. During this visit his common law wife wanted me to sign some papers, thinking that I had some sort of claim on the house she owned with him. I didn't, but she kept on insisting that I visit. I did, and I didn't have to sign any papers. They took me to see his grave, and as I stated before, this was the first and only time I have. He made a new family, apart from my mother and me. Those people loved him. I loved him because I had to, not because he was there for me. I messed up a lot of things between us, but our relationship was doomed from the start, I think. It was tainted from the start with that "original sin" of how he treated my mother.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland