previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Butterflies -- 2001-08-10
 
I hate to admit the George Bush is right about anything, but he did make the right move pertaining to stem cell research funding. I'm glad because while I'm still up in the air as to whether cloning is a good idea, the research must go on.

I was walking from the mailbox this afternoon and noticed that I had a butterfly on my radiator grill. This past weekend when I went to visit my dad I drove past a bunch of fields. Every few minutes a butterfly would get hit by my speeding car. I felt bad about it, but at the same time I knew that I couldn't do anything about it. Even if I slowed down my car would still hit the butterflys that flew on to the highway. And, even if I totally stopped the car, the rest of the cars would hit them too. It was a silly thing to think about while I'm racing down the freeway, I know... but, it's still what came to mind. Don't they know better than to fly on to the freeway? The sad thing is that all along the freeway there were trees, very likely where they make their homes. :(

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland