previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Vanilla dreams -- 2002-07-06
 
I bought a Vanilla Coke last week so I could taste it for myself. I've made my own vanilla Cokes for years by adding a few drops of vanilla extract to a regular Coke. Sometimes I would make a mistake and put too much vanilla, sometimes I wouldn't put enough. So, it's going to be easier for me now that I can just buy a Vanilla Coke. At first I thought the taste was good, but not as good as my own Vanilla Cokes. However, now that I've had a few I think that the store bought Vanilla Cokes better because I'm guaranteed uniformity of the taste. It's cool.

I'm constantly surrounded by idiots. To me it seems that everyone is working on these arbitrary ideas all the time. There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason for what people do. It makes me glad that I'm sitting here at home and not out in public right now. I think that I might go off and hit someone in the face. There have been a couple of times this week in which I've wanted to punch something. I think that I'm in need of some meditation time. I haven't meditated in a while, and I'm showing it. I do my daily mini-meditations during the day, but I need to do my full meditation.

For the last couple of weeks I've been trying to call Talia. I haven't called her though. There always seems to be something that keeps me from doing it. But, then when there isn't anything going on I haven't called her either. :( I do want to talk to her, and that's why I haven't called her. I don't want our talk to be some little five minute conversation. Those suck. I like talking to her, and the last few times we've talked the conversations have been for a few hours. I was going to ask her if she wanted to go out and do something this weekend, but there always seems to be something else to do around here. Hopefully I'll be able to call her tomorrow.

The other morning I had a strange dream. I was dreaming that I was outside in my yard talking to my neighbor over the fence when the phone rang. I excused myself and went and picked up the phone but it was still ringing. I didn't know what was wrong. Then I realized that I wasn't really awake. I woke up and answered the phone. It was my cousin, who asked if she woke me up. I told her she did, but that it was strange because I was dreaming that the phone was ringing. I remember that I've had a dream like that before when the real phone was ringing. That time I didn't wake up in time to answer the phone. But, the strange thing is how real the dream felt. I know there's a story in that somewhere. I just have to figure out what that story might be.

Earlier this week my old laserdisc player, that has doubled as my CD player since my old CD player blew up, went on the fritz. For some reason the old girl just doesn't want to play CDs. There are times when it will start to play a CD and then just conk out. About a year and a half, give or take a few months, I was in a Good Guys looking at something called a Super Audio Compact Disc player. The thing weighed a ton, well, 55 pounds actually, and only played on CD at a time. Not only that, it cost something like $5,000, if memory serves me correct. Something about that number seems high, but at the same time I remember that I commented that the cost was more than my entire system to date. The sound that came out of it was absolutely wonderful though. Something other than great, but more akin to spectacular. I knew that I would some day have it. And, so comes in my troubles with me laserdisc player. Because I want to have it repaired and then be dedicated to only playing laserdiscs, I don't want to wear it out playing CDs, and such. I would use my DVD player to play CDs, but I don't want to wear it out doing double duty. Also, the DVD player I got doesn't play CD-Rs. To that end I went online and found a SACD player that I saw a few months ago at Best Buy. At the time I remember how I was seconds away from getting it right there and then, for the great price of only $199. Also, it was a five disc player, and it would play my burned CDs. The best of all worlds, right? Well, when I asked the clerk where I could pick one up because I didn't see it next to the display he informed me that they didn't have any in stock. He looked through the computer and found that a store in Culver City had it. But, I was starving and I also wanted to beat the traffic, so I never ended up going to get it. Now that I wanted to get it I couldn't find it anywhere. Seems that everyone sold their's Thankfully I found one online and for only $180. Come Wednesday I'll be listening to some tunes on my new SACD player. Woo Hoo!

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland