previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

I was just going to say -- 03.27.06
 
"First you have to give up, first you have to KNOW... not fear... KNOW... that someday you're gonna die.� That�s one of my favorite quotes from Fight Club. One of my least favorite quotes is the one I hear so many times in my classes, "I was just going to say." That's what 90% of the students in my classes say before starting their statement. In class we are often asked our opinions on something pertaining to the class. I tell you over 90% of the students that raise their hand and are called upon start whatever statement they're going to make with the phrase "I was just going to say." In my mind I think to myself, "Why don't you just make your statement without the whole preamble?" ARGH! People are SO STUPID.

The other day one of the managers at work put the following sign out.

So I wonder how many new people are going to start in the next few weeks. I want to be out of there in a few weeks, but I haven't had time to look for anything new. I think that I'm going to put in a few applications while on Spring Break. Ah sweet Spring Break, how I look forward to you now more than ever.

Last week I noticed someone sitting on the roof of one of the buildings on campus. I had just parked my car in one of the parking structures when I saw someone sitting on the roof in the distance. That intrigued me, so on Thursday I went about looking for access to that roof. Sure enough it's super easy to get up there seeing as one of the stairwells as direct access to the roof of this building. Tonight, before my poetry class I had a little time before class started so I went up there again. While up there I took a series of pictures that I merged when I got home, creating a panoramic picture (below).

The roof is now my favorite place on campus. It's close to most of my classes, yet it's also secluded. I spent a few minutes alone up there before someone walked to the structure in the middle of the photograph above. They didn't see me even though I didn't make any effort to hide. Why should I hide, I wasn't doing anything wrong. I was just sitting there minding my own business while listening to some tunes.

Saturday was a long day for me, but it ended with quite a bit of enjoyment. I started work at six in the morning, which meant getting up extra early. Course I got out of work early, but I couldn't just go home and relax. I had a poetry assignment due today (Monday) and there was no way I would be able to do it Sunday or today. So right after work I decided to take the metro downtown and head off to the Central library to do some research. This really nice librarian helped me access some old issues of a poetry journal. I arrived there at around four o'clock, and the library closes at six, so I only had a couple of hours to do the research. I gathered all the material and started to make copies of them so that I could continue my work at home.

I haven't spent that much time in downtown at night in a long time. Spending it alone was pretty cool because I really love my time alone. I did my research and then headed down to Clifton's cafeteria to have dinner. The one good thing about working is having a few extra dollars in my pocket. Certainly I can't say that I'm rolling in dough, because I'm not. I'm barely holding my head above water at this point, but I'm happy.

Clifton's was great, and being there at night was slightly different. The place had a different vibe with the dinner crowd, as opposed to the lunch crowd I usually encounter. I bought some mac and cheese, which is homemade at Clifton's. They don't use that mystery cheese that's super orange and oozes out of that silver package. This mac and cheese is white with loads of different cheeses.

Anyway, little did I know that there was a protest going on in downtown. I got caught up in the backwash of people trying to get on to the Blue line to Long Beach. Here's a picture of the teeming masses trying to get up the stairs.

It's blurred because everyone was moving around so much that I couldn't really stand in one spot without being hit. I was lucky to get this shot, though I think the blur gives it a good look.

Anyway, I got home and told my aunt that I had brought some mac and cheese. I figured she would eat half of it and I would eat the other half the next day for lunch. Well, the communication broke down between us and she thought to eat the whole order of mac and cheese by herself. She didn't eat anything else for dinner but the mac and cheese from Clifton's. When I went to the kitchen later I asked her, "Did you leave any for me?" she just gasped and said, "I ate it all." It was a funny moment to be sure, but mixed with a little bit of pain because I really love that mac and cheese from Clifton's. I'll go there again soon, so no worries about the missed opportunity to have some. Saturday was a good day after I got off work. There was something so great about just hopping on the subway and going downtown at night.

OK, time for me to head off to bed. But before I do let me post today's picture of the day, which is entitled "Dead Bee."

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland