previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

A Rocky Horror Night -- 07.31.06
 
I'm moments away from going out but I wanted to write this entry before I have to leave. So Saturday night I went with a couple of co-workers to see "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" at the Nuart. If you didn't know Rocky Horror has a cult following. The midnight show at the Nuart is a bit of a tradition here in Los Angeles. People regularly go dressed up to see the movie for the umteenth time. Saturday night was my first time, so I didn't know what to expect. Was it super great, I can't say that it was. Did I have a good time, yes. I would have liked to have made more fun of the movie, but the movie is essentially played out while being projected on the screen. Basically one goes not to just see the movie but to experience a bunch of people celebrating a movie.

Because this was my first time I was given the sign of the virgin, a lipstick "V" on my face, partisipation in a mandatory "group hump," and a diploma showing that I had gone through all that (shown below).

I'm not so sure I'll do it again any time soon. Maybe some day because for now once was enough. The thing is, I would have rather sat down somewhere and made fun of the movie Mystery Science 3000 style. The jokes at the theater were all canned jokes that sounded super rehearsed, and that kinda didn't make me think the whole thing was funny after a while.

Work absolutely sucked this weekend. My stupid left foot has been hurting me off and on for the last couple of weeks. I'm not sure if it's from the shoes I wear to work or what, but I'm getting sick of it. I have a pair of slippers that really kill me when I try to walk in them nowadays. I rather just walk barefooted, which is awkward for me. Sometimes I put my shoes on without socks instead of walking barefooted or with those busted slippers. I need some new slippers.

I finally got a picture of this guy that shows up every week to fill a couple of jugs with water from the store's drinking fountain. The people that come into the store range from strange to stupid. Somedays there seems to be no inbetween.

As I was saying, this guy comes in with a couple of plastic jugs and sits at the drinking fountain filling his jugs up with water. He doesn't come off as homeless, but the day I took this picture I later saw him brushing his teeth by what appeared to be his car.

Last night I woke up from a dream, which is a very rare thing for me. I hardly even remember my dreams let alone wake up from them. But last night was different. I dreamt that I saw my mother. Sunday my Aunt came over asking for some pictures of my mother. She went about looking for her photo album, which seems to have disappeared. We really didn't move her personal things after she passed away. Things are not the same as she left them, but her bed has a drawer that is nearly as she left it. I have placed some new things in that drawer, but things like her jewelry have not been touched since she passed away nine years ago. So as I was saying I dreamt that she was standing in front of me. All I can remember about the dream is how it ended. I ran up to her and gave her a big hug, which is when I woke up. Still half asleep I slowly came to realize that I wasn't hugging my mother, I was hugging my pillow. At that point I woke up and realized where I was and what had happened. It's amazing how real dreams can feel. Today I'm missing my mother like I haven't in a few years. I can't believe it's been so long since she left. I miss her very much.
End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland