previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Back up and running -- 10.30.10
 
My home internet went down Monday morning, hence the lack of updates this week. It�s been up and running since Thursday. Good thing too, because there were a couple of bills I needed to pay online, like right away.

Last week a couple of people came to me and told me about a library assistant job opening, clearly inferring that I should apply for it. I thought about it, and decided that it wasn�t for me. A couple of reasons jumped out, like the fact that I was sure I wasn�t going to get the job. If I couldn�t get that other job I went for because I didn�t have �enough experience,� what makes me think I had a chance with this higher position job? Actually, I didn�t think I had a chance, hence me not going for it. Worst thing is, they�re really passing up a great worker, but how can I convince them they�re making a mistake by not hiring me? There isn�t a way to prove that. But really what the job entails isn�t rocket science. If they gave me four months I would master the whole process. I have a fast learning curve, but of course I can�t show them that if they don�t hire me in the first place. So yeah, I didn�t apply for this thing. But it would be great to get this job, because it would mean more money and a better position. If it wasn�t for my stupid debts I wouldn�t give a damn about how much money I made. But, money has become more important because I�m barely floating by at the moment.

* * * * * *

Speaking of my job, Thursdays and Fridays have become the most monotonous days of my week. The tasks they have me doing don�t vary at all. I can�t blame the higher ups for not trusting me, I�m only there for two days a week, and they don�t know me very well. But they should know that I�ve performed all the monkey tasks they have thrown at me with relative ease. What gets me is the boredom. During the day my brain could shut down and I could still do my job. It�s all manual labor (not the hard kind, mind you). My brain is mush when I come out of their on a Friday night. Boredom and the pay are the two main reasons why I want to get another job. Everything else is actually kinda nice about the job... kinda.

* * * * * *

Megan and I went up to the Griffith Observatory this week. She hadn�t been up there for over 15 years, she said. I couldn�t believe that. I go up there all the time because it�s one of my favorite spots in the city.

Everyone in �LA� lives in their little corner of LA. The Westsiders are on the Westside, those in The Valley reside there. But I think that the central point in Los Angeles isn�t downtown, but the Observatory. On a clear day one can see all the way down to San Pedro and Catalina. I�ve been up there after a rain, when the smog doesn�t blanket the city like a dirty shag carpet. Nearly everyone in this city has gone, or will one day visit the Observatory. It�s a building everyone knows about even if they don�t live here. My Uncle from Mexico couldn�t stop talking about it a few years back. All he wanted to do is go up to the Observatory because part of his favorite, �Rebel Without a Cause� was filmed there. It is a quintessential Los Angeles spot. Seemingly always there, a throwback to a past era, the layers of its history blurred by that always new sheen of Hollywood�s bright lights. Perched in the hills, the lights of Hollywood twinkle all the more because of the car exhaust. I completely love that place... and THAT�s why I wanted to take Megan there. Because I completely love her.

End Communication.

* * * * * *

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland