previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

Things to critique this week -- 02.02.11
 
* * * * * *

There hasn�t been football here in Los Angeles in a LONG time. Last team I rooted for locally was the Raiders. They were good, they were badasses, and they brought the city the only championship in football we�ve ever had. The Rams sucked dick, even when they were good. I never rooted for them, only against them. I hated them even more when they killed the team in order to move it to Saint Louis. I never followed them, so they were never my team. Not only that, they didn�t even play in LA, they played in Orange County. Whatever, they�re both gone now. I don�t miss football here in town because I root for other teams, and sometimes still for the Raiders (from afar). So today was a big day because the supposedly new stadium that will lure an NFL team here to LA was given its official name... Farmers Field. And you know what? I�m pretty much sick of this naming rights bullshit. Because stadiums shouldn�t have stupid names like Farmers field, or Invesco field. They should have names like The Coliseum, or Candlestick park, or Lambeau field. Know what a name like Invesco field invokes? NOTHING! Lambeau, that invokes football. So yeah, some team will show up here and play on some fancy field, but it will be named in the most lame fashion, after some stupid corporation. The other side of the story is that those interested in bringing a franchise to LA aren�t just looking for an expansion team (which isn�t realistic given the nature of the game right now). But rather are looking to lure a team from another city. The main name I heard was the San Diego Chargers. Another team I despise. So they can just stay where they are, because I�ll never root for them. They used to play in LA, but that was WAY before I was born. In short, I rather football stay out of LA.

* * * * * *

I read an article the other day about fast food chains like Carl�s Jr. catering to �Hungry young men� by serving up huge burgers at cheap prices. The other day I went off that script and bought a couple of those chicken wraps. I gotta say, Carl�s has a winner. The chicken tastes good, and the wraps are not too big. I love a huge burger like the next hungry young man, but at the same time I also understand that it�s probably not a good idea to eat so much fast food. I think most people do, but in practice they don�t really follow through with their own moratorium on fast food. The problem is that I�m hungry, and there are times when the alternative of eating at home isn�t convenient. Moreso, it�s about time. We have so little time, and fast food offers up a huge meal for a couple of bucks. It�s too tempting.

* * * * * *

I wrote about this before, so I�ll keep it short. Dumb phishing emails are amazing to me. Amazing because they seem to work, or these people trying to steal your information wouldn�t be sending them on a constant basis. I mean come on. The above email was sent to me from Back of America, supposedly. Again, there are so many clues here that SCREAM don�t trust this email. Like the undisclosed recipients. Know who that is? It isn�t me. I have a name. This is clue number one that this is a mass email not sent directly to me. Companies like this don�t have you input all your information all over again, they already have your info. They just want you to verify a couple of things. They don�t ask you for every single piece of information all over again. Also, I don�t even have an account with BofA. If you have any questions best to call the bank, don�t go trusting these emails. But whatever, do what you want.

* * * * * *

My buddy showed me some pictures of this girl Sarah Shari and it reminded me that she has a show on. I went online and checked out the show, a show called �Fairly Legal,� about a plucky young mediator that �fixes� situations with her plucky demeanor. What struck me in the first 30 seconds of the show is how often a female lead character in a series pilot will wake up next to some guy in her bed, scramble to find her clock or her phone, then upon finding it burst out of bed subsequently throwing the guy out, all the while lamenting her decision to have said guy in her bed. I remember �Grey�s Anatomy� started out that way, and of course lead to the fact that the main characters in bed would also be working together. Well, the same probably goes for �Fairly Legal.� Whatever. My point is that for some reason the writers of these shows tend to have the plucky lead female�s first impression towards the audience be this girl who wakes up next to some random guy who isn�t her husband or boyfriend. Like being plucky and successful means not getting your love life in order. Like being successful means that your private life is in shambles. I guess, I don�t know. Maybe I�m reading too much into it. More later.

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland