previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

What I did Dec. 31st 2011 -- 01.01.12
 
Happy New Year! So many of us had a pretty terrible 2011, but I have to say that the second half of my year was actually pretty good. I got a promotion, and two raises in that time. I started teaching a computer class, and got to show my work in the lobby of the Glendale public library. The first half of the year wasn�t so grand. But thankfully around June things clicked. The lowest point of 2011 was when TheGirl broke up with me. But a week later we got back together. A couple of weeks after that I consolidated my debt, and got a new car... in a sense completing my turn-around. I like to keep that winning streak going in 2012, but there�s no guarantees huh?

* * * * * *

So yesterday was New Years Eve, and TheGirl and I spent the entire day together. We slept in and started our day quite leisurely. We did some practical things, such as go to Kohl�s to buy some stuff. I ended up buying nothing, but that�s just me. TheGirl bought some unmentionables. ;) After the practicality of that we needed to get some food. TheGirl mentioned that there was a Sonic nearby. I had mentioned that I wanted to try their food, so off we went.


The menu board

I wasn�t sure what to eat. I finally settled upon the footlong hot dog with chili. Man was that thing huge (pictured below).

As they say, �I can�t believe I ate the whole thing.� I did, and I didn�t feel hungry until late at night.

* * * * * *

While walking back to the car after shopping I spotted this idiot parking job (pictured above). I hate it that their are people that feel so entitled in this world that they would take up two parking spots. Now the problem is mitigated by the fact that the parking lot wasn�t full. But there have been times when I will see this in a packed parking lot and wonder how the car isn�t completely scratched up. I post these pictures as a �public service,� of sorts. Because this sort of thing should have consequences, even though in the grand scale of things this is very low in importance. Still, I think the little things point out the wrongs of our society. But, what do I know?

* * * * * *

Lastly a part of a sign at Knott�s last night made me laugh. Line jumping must be a problem at all amusement parks. Again, entitled people think they they don�t have to follow the rules because their �special.� If you don�t think the rules apply to you, then why should I think they apply to me? Sadly this rule has to be posted. Thankfully I didn�t see any of this occurring, but I do see it happening at Disneyland sometimes. I�m especially pissed at the people who bump into me while in line and just pass by me to catch up to the rest of their party. Ah, excuse me. That�s not right. But, what can you say? I wonder if there�s a rule like this at Disneyland. If their is, maybe it�s time to point it out to some of the guests. Ah, what�s the use? People are gonna suck no matter what. That is certainly one thing that won�t change in 2012.

I only wish people would start being more considerate of others in 2012. It would be a nice change to have people be polite, and not just push to be first in line or first at anything. Oh well, I can dream can�t I? Happy 2012!

End Communication.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland