previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

You can't Rely on Anyone -- 2003-11-30
 
There is something I always forget. There isn't anyone you can rely on in this world but yourself. Over and over again, I've learned this lesson. Sometimes the hard way, by trusting someone. I'm a trusting sort. I want to give people the benefit of the doubt. Yet, over and over again, when I do it turns out to be nothing but a mistake. I find that I have to change my default setting from trusting to doubtful.

This isn't something I do without some thought. I do this now because doing otherwise will leave me open to some things I don't want to deal with. Mainly people. They will do their best to let you down... every time you put your trust in them. Simple as that.

previous entry   /  newest   /  archive   /  next entry

american ecstasy   /  diaryland